Lee University, Cleveland TN
Lee University, Cleveland TN
Lee University - Library Header


  Bible Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

This guide lists starting points for locating resources for Bible study. For more resources, please consult the Library's homepage or consult a reference librarian for assistance (423) 614-8562.
 

General Bible Study Sites

Bible: English Versions

Bible Gateway

Christian Classics Ethereal Library

Christianity.com Bible Study Tools

Crosswalk.com 

Lectionary, Scripture Study, and Worship: Links and Resources 

New Testament Gateway

Old Testament Gateway

Resource Pages for Biblical Studies

Society of Biblical Literature

StudyLight.org

 

 

back to top

 

Online Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

American Tract Society Bible Dictionary (1859) 

Baker's Evangelical Dictionary of Biblical Theology

Catholic Encyclopedia (1913)
§ 2000 print edition shelved in the Reference  – Ref. BX841 .N443

Easton's Bible Dictionary (1897)

Hitchcock's Bible Names Dictionary (late 1800's)

Holman Bible Dictionary

Hypertext Bible Dictionary (Postmodern Bible Dictionary, 1996-2004)

International Standard Bible Dictionary

International Standard Bible Encyclopedia

Jack Van Impe's Dictionary of Prophecy Terms

Jewish Encyclopedia

King James Dictionary

Smith's Bible Dictionary

 

 

back to top

 

Print Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

For tips on locating other Bible dictionaries or encyclopedias in the library, see Bible Online Catalog Search Tips.

General Bible Dictionaries

The Anchor Bible Dictionary.  Doubleday, 1992.
§ Ref. BS440 .A54 1992

Eerdmans Dictionary of the Bible.  Eerdmans, 2000.
§ Ref. BS440 .E44 2000

Harper’s Bible Dictionary.  Harper San Francisco, 1996.
§ Ref. BS440 .H235 1996; and
¤  CD-ROM - Circulation Desk - Media BS125 .L64 1995 (Logos Bible Software)

The International Standard Bible Encyclopedia.  Eerdmans, 1979.
§ Ref. BS440 .I6 1979

The Interpreter’s Dictionary of the Bible.  Abingdon, 1976.
§ Ref. BS440 .I63

The New Bible Dictionary.  Intervarsity Press, 1996.
§ Ref. BS440 .N4 1996; and
¤  CD-ROM - Circulation Desk - Media BS125 .L64 1995 (Logos Bible Software)

New International Dictionary of the Bible.  Zondervan, 1987.
§ Ref. BS440 .N44 1987

Biblical Theology

Evangelical Dictionary of Biblical Theology.  Baker Books, 1996.
§ Ref. BS440 .E78 1996 and Crosswalk.com

New Dictionary of Biblical Theology.  Intervarsity Press, 2000.
§ Ref. BS440 .N437 2000

The New International Dictionary of New Testament Theology.  Edited by Colin Brown.  Eerdmans, 1975-78.
§ Ref. BS2397 .N48

New International Dictionary of Old Testament Theology & Exegesis.  Zondervan, 1997.
§ Ref. BS440 .N448 1997

History of the English Bible

Dictionary of the English Bible and Its Origins.  Sheffield Academic Press, 2000.
§ Ref. BS455 .G55 2000

Illustrated Dictionaries

The Illustrated Bible Dictionary.  Tyndale House, 1980.
§ Ref. BS440 .I44 1980

The Zondervan Pictorial Encyclopedia of the Bible.  Zondervan, 1975.
§ Ref. BS440 .Z63

People and Places

See also: Bible Handbooks and Maps.

Dictionary of Bible Place Names.  Revell, 1970.
§ Ref. BS630 .R645

The Oxford Guide to People & Places of the Bible.  Oxford University Press, 2001.
§ Ref BS570 .O94 2001

 

back to top

 

CD-ROMs

The Basic IVP Reference Collection CD-ROM.  Inter-Varsity Press, 2003.
¤ CD-ROM - Circulation Desk - Media BS440 .B3
Includes: New Bible dictionary ▪ New Bible commentary ▪ New Bible atlas ▪ Dictionary of Biblical imagery ▪ Dictionary of Jesus and the gospels ▪ Dictionary of Paul and his letters ▪ Dictionary of the later New Testament & its developments ▪ Hard sayings of the Bible ▪ The IVP Bible background commentary: New Testament ▪ The IVP Bible background commentary: Old Testament ▪ New dictionary of Biblical theology ▪ New dictionary of theology ▪ Pocket dictionary for the study of New Testament Greek ▪ Pocket dictionary of apologetics & philosophy of religion ▪ Pocket dictionary of Biblical studies ▪ Pocket dictionary of theological terms.

Harper’s Bible Dictionary.  Harper San Francisco, 1996.
§ Ref. BS440 .H235 1996; and
¤  CD-ROM - Circulation Desk - Media BS125 .L64 1995 (Logos Bible Software)

The New Bible Dictionary.  Intervarsity Press, 1996.
§ Ref. BS440 .N4 1996; and
¤  CD-ROM - Circulation Desk - Media BS125 .L64 1995 (Logos Bible Software)

 

back to top

 

Search the Online Catalog

For more Bible dictionaries or encyclopedias in the library, search the Library's online catalog for the following terms:

BIBLE - BIOGRAPHY

BIBLE - DICTIONARIES

BIBLE - GEOGRAPHY

BIBLE - THEOLOGY - DICTIONARIES

BIBLE. ENGLISH - DICTIONARIES

 

back to top

 

aah_updated 3/24/09

William G. Squires Library

http://library.leeuniversity.edu (423) 614-8550

260 11th Street NE, Cleveland, TN 37311

Serving Lee University and the Church of God Theological Seminary


Library Menu


 

  Lee University


© 1997 - 2009 · Privacy Statement · Campus Map · Weather in Cleveland · Weather in Charlotte
Lee University · 1120 North Ocoee Street · Cleveland, TN · 37320-3450 · 1-800-LEE-9930
Current Visitors for library.leeuniversity.edu: 41· A-Z Index · Web Requests & Standards · Send Feedback