Lee University, Cleveland TN
Lee University, Cleveland TN
Lee University - Library Header


Bible Study Tools

Bible Study Tools

This guide lists starting points for locating resources for Bible study. For more resources, please consult the Library's homepage or consult a reference librarian for assistance (423) 614-8562.
 

General Bible Study Tools

Links

 

back to top

 

Bible Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Links

Books

For tips on locating other Bible dictionaries or encyclopedias in the library, see Bible Online Catalog Search Tips.

The Anchor Bible Dictionary.  Doubleday, 1992.
Ref. BS440 .A54 1992

The Basic IVP Reference Collection CD-ROM.  Inter-Varsity Press, 2003.
Circulation - Desk Media BS440 .B3 CD-ROM
Includes: New Bible dictionary ▪ New Bible commentary ▪ New Bible atlas ▪ Dictionary of Biblical imagery ▪ Dictionary of Jesus and the gospels ▪ Dictionary of Paul and his letters ▪ Dictionary of the later New Testament & its developments ▪ Hard sayings of the Bible ▪ The IVP Bible background commentary: New Testament ▪ The IVP Bible background commentary: Old Testament ▪ New dictionary of Biblical theology ▪ New dictionary of theology ▪ Pocket dictionary for the study of New Testament Greek ▪ Pocket dictionary of apologetics & philosophy of religion ▪ Pocket dictionary of Biblical studies ▪ Pocket dictionary of theological terms.

Diccionario Ilustrado de la Biblia.  Editorial Caribe, 1975.
Ref. BS440 .D48 1975

Dictionary of Bible Place Names.  Revell, 1970.
Ref. BS630 .R645

Dictionary of the English Bible and Its Origins.  Sheffield Academic Press, 2000.
Ref. BS455 .G55 2000

Eerdmans Dictionary of the Bible.  Eerdmans, 2000.
Ref. BS440 .E44 2000

Evangelical Dictionary of Biblical Theology.  Baker Books, 1996.
Ref. BS440 .E78 1996 and Crosswalk.com

Harper’s Bible Dictionary.  Harper San Francisco, 1996.
Ref. BS440 .H235 1996; and
CD-ROM - Circulation Desk - Media BS125 .L64 1995 (Logos Bible Software)

The Illustrated Bible Dictionary.  Tyndale House, 1980.
Ref. BS440 .I44 1980

The International Standard Bible Encyclopedia.  Eerdmans, 1979.
 Ref. BS440 .I6 1979

The Interpreter’s Dictionary of the Bible.  Abingdon, 1976.
Ref. BS440 .I63

The New Bible Dictionary.  Intervarsity Press, 1996.
Ref. BS440 .N4 1996; and
CD-ROM - Circulation Desk - Media BS125 .L64 1995 (Logos Bible Software)

New Catholic Encyclopedia.  Thomson, Gale, 2002- .
Ref. BX841 .N443; 1913 edition online

New Dictionary of Biblical Theology.  Intervarsity Press, 2000.
Ref. BS440 .N437 2000

The New International Dictionary of New Testament Theology.  Edited by Colin Brown.  Eerdmans, 1975-78.
Ref. BS2397 .N48

New International Dictionary of Old Testament Theology & Exegesis.  Zondervan, 1997.
Ref. BS440 .N448 1997

New International Dictionary of the Bible.  Zondervan, 1987.
Ref. BS440 .N44 1987

Wycliffe  Bible Encyclopedia.  Moody, 1975.
Ref. BS440 .W92

The Zondervan Pictorial Encyclopedia of the Bible.  Zondervan, 1975.
Ref. BS440 .Z63

 

back to top

 

Bible Handbooks

Books

For tips on locating other Bible handbooks in the library, see Bible Online Catalog Search Tips.

The Anchor Bible Dictionary.  Doubleday, 1992.
Ref. BS440 .A54 1992

Eerdmans’ Handbook to the Bible.  Eerdmans, 1993.
Ref. BS417 .E35 1993

Eerdmans’ Handbook to the Bible.  Spanish.  Manual Bíblico Ilustrado.  Editorial Caribe, 1976.
Ref. BS417 .A558

Hayford’s Bible Handbook.  Thomas Nelson Publishers, 1995.
Dixon Research Center Pent. BS417 .H39 1995

Holman Book of Biblical Charts, Maps, and Reconstructions.  Broadman and Holman Publishers, 1993.
Ref. BS417 .H634 1993

Zondervan Handbook to the Bible.  Zondervan, 1999.
Ref. BS417 .Z66 1999

 

back to top

 

Bible Maps and Geography Resources

Links

Books

For tips on locating other Bible handbooks in the library, see Bible Online Catalog Search Tips.

Baker Encyclopedia of Bible Places.  Inter-Varsity Press, 1995.
Ref. BS635.2 .B35

The Basic IVP Reference Collection CD-ROM.  Inter-Varsity Press, 2003.
Circulation - Desk Media BS440 .B3 CD-ROM
Includes: New Bible Atlas.

Dictionary of Bible Place Names.  Revell, 1970.
Ref. BS630 .R645

Eerdmans’ Atlas of the Bible.  Eerdmans, 1983.
Ref. G2230 .E34

Harper Atlas of the Bible.  Harper & Row, 1987.
Ref. G2230 .H37 1987

Holman Book of Biblical Charts, Maps, and Reconstructions.  Broadman and Holman Publishers, 1993.
Ref. BS417 .H634 1993

Oxford Bible Atlas.  Oxford University Press, 1984.
Ref. BS630 .O96 1984

Zondervan Image Archives: Bible and Church History Sites and Artifacts.  Oxford University Press, 1984. CD-ROM
Circulation Desk - Media BS635 Z96 CD-Rom

 

back to top

 

Study Bibles

Links

Books

For tips on locating other Bible handbooks in the library, see Bible Online Catalog Search Tips.

Interlinear Hebrew-Greek-English Multi-Volume Study Bibles

The Complete Biblical Library:

The Old Testament Study Bible.  World Library Press, 1994-1999. 
Ref. BS1193 .O5 1994   

The New Testament Study Bible.  World Library Press, 1986- .
Ref. BS2341.2 .C67 1986

King James Version (Authorized Version)

The Defender's Study Bible: King James Version.  World Pub., 1995.
Circulating - BS185 1995 .G73

The Full Life Study Bible, King James Version, the New Testament.  Zondervan Bible Publishers, 1990.
Circulating and Dixon Pentecostal Research Center - BS2085 1990 .G7

The Hebrew-Greek Key Study Bible: King James Version: Zodhiates' original and complete system of Bible study.  AMG Publishers, 1984.
Circulating - BS185 1984 .C42

The Logos International Study Bible.  American Standard Bible.  Logos International, [1972].
Dixon Pentecostal Research Center - Pent. BS188 .A2 1972

Nave's Study Bible: King James Version with Concordance.  Moody Press, 1907.
Circulating - BS185 1907

Spirit Filled Life Bible: King James Version.  Thomas Nelson, 1991.
Circulating, Reference, and Dixon Pentecostal Research Center - BS185 1991 .N37 1991 

The Wesley Bible: New King James Version: A Personal Study Bible for Holy Living.  T. Nelson, 1990.
Circulating - BS195 .N38 1990b

The Word Study Bible: The Holy Bible, Authorized King James Version.  Harrison House, 1990.
Dixon Pentecostal Researcher Center (Pent. BS185 1990 .T8)

New American Standard Bible (NASB)

The New Inductive Study Bible: Updated New American Standard Bible.  Harvest House, 2000.
Circulating - BS195 .N35 2000

New international Version (NIV)

Disciple's Study Bible: New International Version.  Holman Bible Publishers, 1988.
Circulating - BS195 .N37 1988b

The Full Life Study Bible, New International Version.  New Testament.  Zondervan Bible Publishers, 1990.
Circulating and Dixon Pentecostal Research Center - BS195 .N37 1992

The New Scofield Study Bible: New International Version.  Oxford University Press, 1984.
Circulating - BS195.N37 B52 1984

The NIV Study Bible, New International Version.  Zondervan Bible Publishers, 1985.
Ref. BS195 .N37 1985

 

back to top

 

Bible Commentaries

See also Study Bibles above.

Links

Books

Check marks (ü) indicate resources that are frequently used for University and Seminary class assigments.

For tips on locating other Bible handbooks in the library, see Bible Online Catalog Search Tips.

Analytical Key to the Old Testament.  Baker Book House, 1989.
Ref. PJ4731.B53 O94 1989

ü The Anchor Bible.  Doubleday. 
The Library has most volumes of the Anchor Bible commentaries. They are shelved on the upper level of the Library and may be checked out. To locate the volume you need, conduct an ADVANCED SEARCH in the online catalog.

Enter your search in the following format:

ANCHOR BIBLE book of the Bible  [all of these]  Search in: [Keyword Anywhere]

Example:
ANCHOR BIBLE GENESIS  [all of these]  Search in: [Keyword Anywhere]

The Bethany Parallel Commentary on the Old Testament: From the Condensed Editions of Matthew Henry, Jamieson, Fausset, Brown, Adam Clarke: Three Classic Commentaries in One Volume.  Bethany House, 1985.
Ref. BS1151 .B46 1985

Commentary on the Old Testament.  Eerdmans, 1983.
Ref. BS1154. K414 1983

Ellicott’s Commentary on the Whole Bible.  Zondervan, 1959.
Ref. BS491 .E52

The Expositor’s Bible Commentary.  Zondervan, 1976- .
Ref. BS491.2 .E96

Expositor’s Greek Testament.  Eerdmans, 1976.
Ref. BS1965 1976

Full Life Bible Commentary.  Zondervan, 1999.
Dixon Pentecostal Research Center, Reference, and Circulating -
BS2341.2 .F85 1999

Harper’s Bible Commentary.  Harper and Row, 1988.
Ref. BS491.2 .H37 1988

ü International Critical Commentary.  T. & T. Clark, 1895-  .   
Ref. BS491. I6

The IVP Bible Background Commentaries: Old Testament and New Testament
In The Basic IVP Reference Collection CD-ROM.  Inter-Varsity Press, 2003.
Circulation - Desk Media BS440 .B3 CD-ROM

The IVP Women's Bible Commentary.  InterVarsity Press, 2002.
Circulating - BS521.4 .I97 2002

Matthew Henry’s Commentary on the Whole Bible.  Revell, n.d.
Ref. BS491 .H4

The New Bible Commentary: 21st Century Edition.  Intervarsity Press, 1994.
Ref. BS491.2 .N45 1994

New Century Bible Commentary.  Eerdmans, 1981- .
Ref. BS491.2  .N46 1981

ü New International Commentary on the New Testament.  Grand Rapids, MI: Eerdmans, [1951- .   
Ref. BS2341.2 .N4

ü New International Greek Testament Commentary.  Eerdmans, 1978- .
Ref BS2341.2 .N49

The New Interpreter’s Bible.  Abingdon Press, 1994.
Ref. BS491.2 .N484 1994
CD-ROM Circulation Desk Media Ref. BS491.2 .N4842

The New Scofield Study Bible: New International Version.  Oxford University Press, 1984.
BS195 .N37 B52 1984

ü Tyndale Old and New Testament Commentaries InterVarsity.
The Library has most volumes of the Tyndale commentaries. They are shelved on the upper level of the Library and may be checked out. To locate the volume you need, conduct an ADVANCED SEARCH in the online catalog.
Enter your search in the following format:

TYNDALE COMMENTARIES book of the Bible  [all of these]  Search in: [Keyword Anywhere]

Example:
TYNDALE COMMENTARIES GENESIS  [all of these]  Search in: [Keyword Anywhere]

The Wesleyan Bible Commentary.  Eerdmans, 1964-1969.
Ref. BS491.2 .W4

ü Word Biblical Commentary.  Word, 1982.
Ref. BS491.2 .W67 1982

 

back to top

 

Word Study Resources

Word study resources are resources that assist with the examination of the origin, definition, occurrences, and uses of a particular word, especially as the word relates to the context of a passage of Scripture. The purpose of using word study resources is to determine, as precisely as possible, what the Biblical writer meant when using a particular word or phrase. 

In this guide, word study resources are listed under:

Concordances  l  Lexicons and Language Dictionaries 

Other Word Study Resources l  Dictionaries/Encyclopedias
 

Word Study Resources - Concordances

Concordances are indexes that indicate the locations in the text of the Bible where a word may be found.

Links

Books

For tips on locating other Bible handbooks in the library, see Bible Online Catalog Search Tips.

Analytical Concordance of the Greek New Testament.  Baker Book House, 1991.
Ref. BS2302 .C535 1991

Concordancia Greco-Española del Nuevo Testamento.  CLIE, 1976.
Ref. BS2302 .P4

Nave's Topical Bible.  Moody, 1974.
Ref. BS440 .N32 1974, Crosswalk.com

NIV Exhaustive Concordance.  Zondervan, 1990.
Ref. BS425 .G62 1990

Strong’s Exhaustive Concordance.  Baker Book House, 1982.
Ref. BS425 .S8 1982

Young's Analytical Concordance to the Bible.  T. Nelson Publishers, 1980.
Ref. BS425 .Y7 1980

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

back to top

 

Word Study Resources -
Old Testament Lexicons and Language Dictionaries

Lexicons and language dictionaries are dictionaries of words of a particular language with their definitions.

Links

Books

For tips on locating other lexicons in the library, see Bible Online Catalog Search Tips.

Comprehensive Etymological Dictionary of the Hebrew Language for Readers of English.  Macmillan, 1987. 
Ref. PJ4833 .K54 1987

Diccionario Bíblico Hebreo-Español.  Editorial Tratta, 1994.
Ref. BS440 .A485 1994

Dictionary of Classical Hebrew.  Sheffield Academic Press, 1993-1996.
Ref. PJ4833 .D53 1993

An Expository Dictionary of Old Testament Words.  Old Tappan, NJ: Revell, 1978.
Ref. BS440 .V75

Interpreter’s Dictionary of the Bible.  Abingdon, 1962, suppl. 1976.
Ref. BS440 .I63

A Hebrew and English Lexicon.  Clarendon Press, 1953.
Ref. PJ4833 .G42 1953

Hebrew English Concordance to the Old Testament: with the New International Version.  Zondervan, 1998.
Ref. BS1121 .K65 1998

The New Strong's Complete Dictionary of Bible Words.  Thomas Nelson Publishers, 1996.
Ref. PJ4833 .S87 1996

Old Testament English-Hebrew Dictionary.  World Library Press, 1995-1999.
Ref. PJ4833 .O53 1995

Theological Dictionary of the Old Testament.  Eerdmans, 1993.
Ref. BS440 .B5713

Theological Lexicon of the Old Testament.  Hendrickson, 1997.
Ref. BS440 .T4813 1997

Theological Wordbook of the Old Testament.  Moody Press, 1980.
Ref. BS440 .T49