Lee University, Cleveland TN
Lee University, Cleveland TN
Lee University - Library Header


Christian Leadership
   

Christian Leadership

This guide offers starting points for locating information on topics in Christian leadership. Materials listed are selected examples of recent materials covering the topic. In addition to the books listed on this guide, the Library has an extensive collection of resources on Christianity ministry topics. For more resources, please consult the Library's homepage or consult a reference librarian for assistance (423) 614-8562.
 

Databases

These and other Library databases may be accessed from the Library's homepage:

Religion and Christian Ministry:

Other Related Disciplines: 

ATLA Religion Database

Christian Periodical Index

Religious and Theological Abstracts

Multidisciplinary
Academic Search Premier (ASP)

Expanded Academic ASAP  

Contemporary Issues
CQ Researcher 

Business Management
Business Source Premier (BSP)
General Business File ASAP 

Counseling
PsycINFO
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection

Education
Education Full Text (H. W. Wilson)
Educator's Reference Desk  
 

 

back to top

 

Links

 

back to top

 

Leadership and Administration

Suggested subject headings for conducting a “Subject Search” in the online catalog:

AUTHORITY - RELIGIOUS ASPECTS
CHRISTIAN LEADERSHIP
CHRISTIAN LEADERSHIP - PENTECOSTAL CHURCHES
CHURCH AUTHORITY
CHURCH FINANCE ACCOUNTING
CHURCH FUND RAISING
CHURCH MANAGEMENT (Use for church administration topics.)
CHURCH MANAGEMENT - LAW AND LEGISLATION
CHURCH WORK
CLERGY - OFFICE
CONTROL (PSYCHOLOGY) - RELIGIOUS ASPECTS

LAY MINISTRY
LEADERSHIP - BIBLICAL TEACHING
LEADERSHIP - MORAL AND ETHICAL ASPECTS
LEADERSHIP - RELIGIOUS ASPECTS - CHRISTIANITY
NONPROFIT ORGANIZATIONS - FINANCE
NONPROFIT ORGANIZATIONS - LAW AND LEGISLATION
NONPROFIT ORGANIZATIONS - MANAGEMENT
PASTORAL PSYCHOLOGY
PASTORAL THEOLOGY
RELIGIOUS INSTITUTIONS - ADMINISTRATION
TAX EXEMPTON

Accountable Leadership: A Resource Guide for Sustaining Legal, Financial, and Ethical Integrity in Today's Congregations. By Paul Chaffee. Jossey-Bass, 1997.
§ Circulating - BV652.1 .C46 1997

Building Effective Boards for Religious Organizations: A Handbook for Trustees, Presidents, and Church Leaders. Jossey-Bass, 2000.
§ Circulating - BV652 .B765 2000

Dictionary of Pastoral Care and Counseling. Abingdon, 1990.
§ Ref. BV4011 .D43 1990

Empowered Church Leadership: Ministry in the Spirit According to Paul. By Brian J. Dodd. InterVarsity Press, 2003.
§ Circulating - BV652.1 .D63 2003

Jesus on Leadership. By C. Gene Wilkes. Tyndale House Publishers, 1998.
§ Circulating - BV4597.53.L43 W55 1998

Servant's Manual: Christian Leadership for Tomorrow. By Michael W. Foss. Fortress Press, 2002.
§ Circulating - BV4011.3 .F67 2002

Serve the Community of the Church: Christians as Leaders and Ministers. By Andrew D. Clarke. W. B. Eerdmans, 2000.
§ Circulating - BR195.L42 C53 2000

 

 

back to top

 

Types of Leaders and Biographies

Suggested subject headings for conducting a “Subject Search” in the online catalog:

APOSTLES
BIBLE - BIOGRAPHY
BISHOPS
CHAPLAINS
CHRISTIAN EDUCATION DIRECTORS
CHRISTIAN MISSIONARIES
CHURCH CHARITIES
CHURCH COMMITTEES
CHURCH OF GOD (CLEVELAND, TENN.) - GOVERNMENT
CHURCH OFFICERS
CHURCH YOUTH WORKERS
CITY CLERGY
CLERGY
CLERGY - UNITED STATES - BIOGRAPHY
DEACONS
DEACONESSES

EVANGELISTS
EXECUTIVE ADVISORY BODIES
INTERIM CLERGY
JESUS CHRIST - LEADERSHIP
LAITY
MEN IN CHURCH WORK
PRIESTS
RURAL CLERGY
SPIRITUAL DIRECTORS
SPOUSES OF CLERGY
SUNDAY SCHOOL TEACHERS
WOMEN CHURCH OFFICERS
WOMEN CLERGY
WOMEN IN CHURCH WORK
YOUTH - RELIGIOUS LIFE

Biographical Dictionary of Christian Missions. Eerdmans, 1999.
§ Ref. BV3700 .B56 1999

Dictionary of American Religious Biography. Greenwood Press, 1993.
§ Ref. BL72 .B68 1993

Evangelical Dictionary of Christian Education. Baker, 2001.
§ Ref. BV1461 .E93 2001

Evangelical Dictionary of World Missions. Baker, 2000.
§ Ref. BV2040 .E92 2000

Religious Leaders of America. Gale Research, 1991.
§ Ref. BL72 .M458 1991

Who's Who of World Religions. Simon & Schuster, 1992.
§ Ref. BL72 .W54 1992

 

 

back to top

 

Leadership Development

Suggested subject headings for conducting a “Subject Search” in the online catalog:

CHILDREN OF CLERGY
CHRISTIAN LEADERSHIP
CHURCH AND THE WORLD
CHURCH DISCIPLINE
CHURCH OF GOD (CLEVELAND, TENN.) - CLERGY
CHURCH OF GOD (CLEVELAND, TENN.) - CROSS-CULTURAL MINISTRIES
CHURCH OF GOD (CLEVELAND, TENN.) - STATE OVERSEERS
CLERGY, ABUSE OF
CLERGY - APPOINTMENT, CALL, AND ELECTION
CLERGY - CONDUCT OF LIFE
CLERGY - EVALUATION
CLERGY - FAMILY RELATIONSHIPS
CLERGY - FINANCE, PERSONAL
CLERGY - HANDBOOKS, MANUALS, ETC.
CLERGY - JOB STRESS

CLERGY - LEGAL STATUS, LAWS, ETC.
CLERGY - MALPRACTICE
CLERGY - OFFICE

CLERGY - PROFESSIONAL ETHICS
CLERGY - PSYCHOLOGY
CLERGY - RELIGIOUS LIFE
CLERGY - RELOCATION
CLERGY - SALARIES
CLERGY, TRAINING OF
ORDINATION
PASTORAL PSYCHOLOGY
PASTORAL THEOLOGY
RELIGIOUS EDUCATION - TEACHER TRAINING
RETREATS FOR CLERGY
SOCIAL ACTION
SPIRITUAL DIRECTION
SPOUSES OF CLERGY
TIME MANAGEMENT - RELIGIOUS ASPECTS

10 Habits for Effective Ministry: A Guide for Life-Giving Pastors. By Lowell O. Erdahl. Augsburg, 1996.
§ Circulating - BV660.2 .E73 1996

Handbook of American & Canadian Churches. Abingdon Press, current. 
§ Ref. BR 513 .Y4 2003

Learning While Leading: Increasing Your Effectiveness in Ministry. By Anita Farber-Robertson. Alban Institute, 2000. 
§ Circulating - BV4020 .F37 2000

The Power of the Call. By Henry T. Blackaby. Broadman & Holman, 1997. 
§ Circulating - BV660.2 .B53 1997

Revolution in Leadership: Training Apostles for Tomorrow's Church. By Reggie McNeal. Abingdon Press, 1998. 
§ Circulating - BV652.1 .M395 1998

Strength in the Struggle: Leadership Development for Women. By Vashti Murphy McKenzie. Pilgrim Press, 2001. 
§ Circulating - BR563.N4 M354 2001

Time for Change?: Revisioning Your Call. By James E. Hightower and W. Craig Gilliam. The Alban Institute, 2000. 
§ Circulating - BV664 .H54 2000

 

 

back to top

 

Communication and Problem Solving

[Interpersonal Skills    Team Building    Conflict Resolution]

Suggested subject headings for conducting a “Subject Search” in the online catalog:

BODY LANGUAGE
BUSINESS ETIQUETTE
CHURCH CONTROVERSIES
CHURCH DISCIPLINE
CHURCH ETIQUETTE
COMMUNICATION - RELIGIOUS ASPECTS
CONFLICT MANAGEMENT
CHURCH MARKETING
CHURCH MEETINGS
CROSS-CULTURAL COUNSELING
ETIQUETTE
GROUP PROBLEM SOLVING

INTERCULTURAL COMMUNICATION

INTERPERSONAL CONFLICT
INTERPERSONAL RELATIONS - RELIGIOUS ASPECTS
NONPROFIT ORGANIZATIONS - MARKETING
NONVERBAL COMMUNICATION
PARLIAMENTARY PRACTICE
SELF-DISCLOSURE
SOCIAL PERCEPTION
TEAMS IN THE WORKPLACE
WITNESS BEARING (CHRISTIANITY)
WORK GROUPS

Conflict Management in Congregations. Edited by David B. Lott. Alban Institute, 2001.
§ Circulating - BV652.9 .C66 2001

The Effective Missionary Communicator. By Paul A. Goring. Billy Graham Center, 1991) 
§ Circulating - BV2094.6 .G67 1991

Marketing Communications for Local Nonprofit Organizations: Targets and Tools. Best Business Books, 2001.
§ Circulating - HF5415 .M34 2001

Team Leadership in Christian Ministry: Using Multiple Gifts to Build a Unified Vision. By Kenneth O. Gangel. Moody Press, 1997.
§ Circulating - BV652.1 .G37 1997

Welcoming Resistance. By William Chris Hobgood. Alban Institute, 2001.
§ Circulating - BV652.1 .H57 2001

Wounded Minister: Healing From and Preventing Personal Attacks. By Guy Greenfield. Baker Books, 2001.
§ Circulating - BV4398 .G74 2001

 

 

back to top

 

Ministry Development and Change

Suggested subject headings for conducting a “Subject Search” in the online catalog:

ALTRUISM
BAZAARS (CHARITIES)
BENEVOLENCE
CHARITABLE USES, TRUSTS, AND FOUNDATIONS
CHARITIES
CHARITIES, MEDICAL
CHARITY
CHRISTIAN ETHICS
CHRISTIANITY AND POLITICS
CHRISTIANITY AND JUSTICE
CHRISTIANITY - FORECASTING
CHURCH AND SOCIAL PROBLEMS
CHURCH AND THE WORLD
CHURCH CHARITIES
CHURCH FUND RAISING
CHURCH GROWTH
CHURCH MANAGEMENT
CITY CHURCHES (Use for urban ministry topics.)

CITY MISSIONS
COMMUNITY - RELIGIOUS ASPECTS
CREATIVE ABILITY - RELIGIOUS ASPECTS
EVANGELISTIC WORK

GROUP PROBLEM SOLVING
INTERDENOMINATIONAL COOPERATION
LAY MINISTRY
LITURGICS
MISSIONS
MOTIVATION (PSYCHOLOGY)
ORGANIZATIONAL CHANGE
ORGANIZATIONAL LEARNING
PRAYER MEETINGS
PUBLIC WORSHIP
RELIGIOUS INSTITUTIONS
SMALL CHURCHES
STRATEGIC PLANNING
SUBURBAN CHURCHES

Building a Contagious Church: Revolutionizing the Way We View and Do Evangelism. By Mark Mittelberg. Loyola Press, 2002.
§ Circulating - BV3793 .B2313 2002

Church Wake-Up Call: A Ministries Management Approach That is Purpose-Oriented and Inter-Generational in Outreach. By William Benke, Le Etta Benke. Best Business Books, 2001.
§ Circulating - BV652 .B44 2001

Coaching Change: Breaking Down Resistance, Building Up Hope. By Thomas G. Bandy. Abingdon Press, 2000.
§ Circulating - BV652.1 .B35 2000

Equipped for Every Good Work: Building a Gifts-Based Church. By Dan R. Dick and Barbara Miller.Discipleship Resources, 2001.
§ Circulating - BV652 .D47 2001

Equipping Church Guidebook: Your Comprehensive Resource. By Sue Mallory and Brad Smith. Zondervan Pub. House, 2001.
§ Circulating - BV677 .M32 2001

Leading & Managing a Growing Church. By George G. Hunter, III. Abingdon Press, 2000.
§ Circulating - BV652.25 .H839 2000

Moving Beyond Church Growth: An Alternative Vision for Congregations. By Mark A. Olson. Fortress Publishers, 2002.
§ Circulating - BV652.25 .O45 2002

Spiritual Maturity: Preserving Congregational Health and Balance. By Frank A. Thomas. Fortress Press, 2002.
§ Circulating - BV652 .T52 2002

The Wounded Minister: Healing From and Preventing Personal Attacks. By Guy Greenfield. Baker Books, 2001.
§ Circulating - BV4398 .G74 2001

 

 

back to top

 

Ministry to Groups

Suggested subject headings for conducting a “Subject Search” in the online catalog:

BIG CHURCHES
CHRISTIAN EDUCATION OF ADULTS
CHURCH GROUP WORK
CHURCH GROUP WORK WITH YOUTH
CHURCHES
COMMUNICATION IN SMALL GROUPS
GROUP MINISTRY (Use for team ministry topics.)
GROUP RELATIONS TRAINING
HISPANIC AMERICAN LEADERSHIP
INDIGENOUS CHURCH ADMINISTRATION
INTERGENERATIONAL RELATIONS - RELIGIOUS ASPECTS - CHRISTIANITY
MENTORING IN CHURCH WORK
MISSIONS
PARISHES
PASTORAL COUNSELING
PEER COUNSELING IN THE CHURCH
PRAYER GROUPS
RELIGIOUS EDUCATION
SMALL GROUPS - RELIGIOUS ASPECTS
SUNDAY SCHOOLS

Church Work with Particular Groups:
CHURCH WORK WITH ...

ASIAN AMERICANS
CHILDREN
CRIMINALS
DISASTER VICTIMS
DIVORCED PEOPLE
EX-CHURCH MEMBERS

EXCEPTIONAL CHILDREN
FAMILIES
FOREIGN STUDENTS
GANGS
GAYS
HISPANIC AMERICANS

CHURCH WORK WITH ...

JUVENILE DELINQUENTS

MARRIED PEOPLE
MEDICATION ABUSERS

MEN
MENTALLY HANDICAPPED CHILDREN
MILITARY PERSONNEL
MINORITIES
NARCOTIC ADDICTS
NEW CHURCH MEMBERS
NURSING HOME PATIENTS
PRESCHOOL CHILDREN
PRISONERS
PROSTITUTES
REFUGEES
SINGLE PARENTS
SINGLE PEOPLE
STEPFAMILIES
STUDENTS
TEENAGERS
THE AGED
THE BABY BOOM GENERATION
THE BEREAVED
THE DEAF
THE HANDICAPPED
THE HOMELESS
THE MENTALLY HANDICAPPED
THE MENTALLY ILL
THE POOR
THE SICK
THE TERMINALLY ILL
THE WORKING CLASS
VETERANS
WOMEN
YOUNG ADULTS
YOUTH

Building a Church of Small Groups: A Place Where Nobody Stands Alone. By Bill Donahue and Russ Robinson. Zondervan, 2001.
§ Circulating - BV652.2 .D65 2001

Christian Small-Group Leader. By Thomas R. Hawkins. Discipleship Resources, 2001.
§ Circulating - BV652.2 .H39 2001

Community That is Christian. By Julie Gorman. Baker Books, 2002.
§ Circulating - BV652.2 .G569 2002

Guide for Covenant Discipleship Groups. By Gayle Turner Watson. Discipleship Resources, 2000.
§ Circulating - BV652.2 .W39 2000

Mentoring: A Covenant Ministry Team leadership Development Resource. By Bill George and Horace Ward. Pathway Press, 2001.
§ Circulating - BV4597.52 .G46

Youth Ministry Management Tools: Everything You Need to Successfully Manage and Administrate Your Youth Ministry. By Ginny Olson, Diane Elliot, and Mike Work. Youth Specialties, 2001.
§ Circulating - BV4447 .O49 2001
 

 

back to top

 

Community and World Ministry

Suggested subject headings for conducting a “Subject Search” in the online catalog:

See also the list of suggested online catalog subject headings under Ministry to Groups (above).

CHANGE - RELIGIOUS ASPECTS - CHRISTIANITY
CHRISTIAN LEADERSHIP

CHURCH
CHURCH CHARITIES
CHURCH DEVELOPMENT, NEW
CHURCH FACILITIES - PLANNING
CHURCH GROWTH
CHURCH MANAGEMENT
CHURCH RENEWAL
CITY CHURCHES (Use for urban ministry topics.)
CIVIL RIGHTS - MORAL AND ETHICAL ASPECTS
COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT
COMMUNITY LEADERSHIP
COMMUNITY ORGANIZATION
COMMUNITY - RELIGIOUS ASPECTS
ECONOMICS - RELIGIOUS ASPECTS
ENDOWMENTS
ENVIRONMENTAL ETHICS
ETHNIC RELATIONS
EVANGELISTIC WORK
GROUP PROBLEM SOLVING
HUMAN ECOLOGY - RELIGIOUS ASPECTS

HUMAN SERVICES

HUMANITARIANISM
INTERCULTURAL COMMUNICATION
INTERDENOMINATIONAL COOPERATION
INTERNATIONAL RELIEF
LAY MINISTRY
MISSIONS
MOTIVATION (PSYCHOLOGY)
LIBERATION THEOLOGY
MISSIONS
MULTICULTURALISM - RELIGIOUS ASPECTS
NON-GOVERNMENTAL ORGANIZATIONS
NONPROFIT ORGANIZATIONS
PUBLIC HEALTH
RACE RELATIONS
RACE RELATIONS - RELIGIOUS ASPECTS
RELIGIOUS INSTITUTIONS
RURAL CHURCHES
SOCIAL ETHICS
SOCIAL JUSTICE
SOCIOLOGY, CHRISTIAN
SPIRITUAL WARFARE
SUBURBAN CHURCHES

Bible in Cross-Cultural Perspective.  By Jacob A. Loewen. W. Carey Library, 2000.
§ Circulating - BS476 .L62 2000

Churches That Make a Difference: Reaching Your Community with Good News and Good Works.  By Ronald J. Sider, Philip N. Olson, and Heidi Rolland Unruh. Baker Books, 2002.
§ Circulating - BV4403 .S53 2002

Cross-Cultural Connections: Stepping Out and Fitting in Around the World.  By Duane H. Elmer. InterVarsity Press, 2002.
§ Circulating - BV2082.I57 E46 2002

Dynamics of Small Town Ministry.  Alban Institute, 2000.
§ Circulating - BV638.7 .F37 2000

The Encyclopedia of Cults, Sects, and New Religions.  Prometheus Books, 1998.
§ Ref. BL2525 .L49 1998

Globalbeliever.com: Connecting to God's Work in your World.  By Grant McClung. Pathway Press, 2000.
§ Circulating - BV3705 .M44 2000

Gospel in Cyberspace: Nurturing Faith in the Internet Age.  By Pierre Babin and Angela Ann Zukowski. Zondervan, 2000.
§ Circulating - BV3790 .M625 2000

The Handbook for Spiritual Warfare.  Thomas Nelson, 1992.
§ Ref. BV4509.5 .M89 1992

Mission Handbook 2001-2003: U.S. and Canadian Christian Ministries OverseasBilly Graham Center, 2000.
§ Ref. BV2050 .M54 2000

Power of a City at Prayer: What Happens When Churches Unite for Renewal.  By Mac Pier and Katie Sweeting. InterVarsity Press, 2002.
§ Circulating - BV227 .P54 2002

Social Gospel Today.  Edited by Christopher H. Evans. Westminster John Knox Press, 2001.
§ Circulating - BT738 .S54 2001

Starting a Nonprofit at Your Church.  By Joy Skjegstad. The Alban Institute, 2002.
§ Circulating - HD62.6 .S55 2002

Telling the Truth: Evangelizing Postmoderns.  By D.A. Carson. Zondervan, 2000.
Circulating - BV3795 .T45 2000

Urban Disciples: A Beginner's Guide to Serving God in the City.  By Jenell Williams Paris and Margot Owen Eyring. Judson Press, 2000.
§ Circulating - BV637 .P37 2000

Urban Ministry: The Kingdom, the City & the People of God.  By Harvie M. Conn and Manuel Ortiz. nterVarsity Press, 2001.
§ Circulating - BV637 .C586 2001

What is Mission?: Theological Explorations.  By J. Andrew Kirk. Fortress Press, 2000.
§ Circulating - BV2061 .K57 2000

World Religions. Macmillan, 1997.
§ Ref. BL82 .W67 1997
 

 

back to top

 

aah_updated 9/16/08

William G. Squires Library

http://library.leeuniversity.edu (423) 614-8550

260 11th Street NE, Cleveland, TN 37311

Serving Lee University and the Church of God Theological Seminary

 
Library Menu


 

  Lee University


© 1997 - 2008 · Privacy Statement · Campus Map · Weather in Cleveland · Weather in Charlotte
Lee University · 1120 North Ocoee Street · Cleveland, TN · 37320-3450 · 1-800-LEE-9930
Current Visitors for library.leeuniversity.edu: 14· A-Z Index · Web Requests & Standards · Send Feedback