Lee University, Cleveland TN
Lee University, Cleveland TN
Lee University - Library Header


Church Music: Hymnology and Liturgy
   

This guide lists starting points for locating information on Church Music. For more resources, please consult the Library's homepage or consult a reference librarian for assistance (423) 614-8562.

 

 

General Hymn and Liturgy Resources

Links

For sacred harp music, see Southern Gospel and Christian Country Music.

  • Canonical Hymnody on the Web  <http://members.aol.com/Dbix7/psalm121.html>
    An individual’s website on the singing the Psalms. (Reformed Presbyterian)

  • Christian Classics: Ethereal Hymnary  <http://www.ccel.org/cceh>
    (Calvin College)
    An indexed collection of public-domain hymn tunes in electronic formats. Includes 1200+ hymn tunes: MIDI, PDF scores. Hymns are indexed by tune name, author, arranger, or source, and by musical meter and incipit.

  • Cyber Hymnal  
    <http://www.cyberhymnal.org>

    Over 3,200 Christian hymns and Gospel songs from many denominations. Includes lyrics, scores, MIDI files, pictures, and history.

  • Dictionary of American Hymnology  <http://www.oberlin.edu/library/DAH.html>
    (Oberlin College & American Society in U.S. & Canada)
    Includes an index of first lines of hymns from 1640 to 1978 with a supplementary index 1978 to present; a bibliography of some 5000 hymnals published in America; an author file; and a biographical file.  

  • Hymns - Here Is Some Music to Enjoy!  <http://www.snowcrest.net/lassen/midi.html>
    Hymn MIDI recordings and some scores.

  • Hymnuts Website
    <http://hymnuts.luthersem.edu/>

  • Orpheus Dei 
    <http://www.orpheusdei.com>

    "A music company formed to encourage the divine-human relationship by supporting the highest development of sacred music."

Books

  • A Bibliography of Christian Worship (Scarecrow Press, 1989) 
    Squires Library - Reference - Ref. BV176 .B52
     

  • Dictionary of Hymnology (Kregel Publications, 1985)
    Squires Library - Reference - Ref. BV305 .J8 1985
     

  • A Dictionary of Hymnology, Setting Forth the Origin and History of Christian Hymns of All Ages and Nations (Dover Publications [1957]) 
    Squires Library - Reference - Ref. BV305 .D5 1957
     

  • Hymns and Tunes: An Index (Scarecrow Press, 1966) 
    Squires Library - Reference - Ref. ML102.H95 D5 1966
     

  • Hymnology: A Collection of Source Readings, by David W. Music (Scarecrow Press, 1996)  Squires Library - Circulating - ML3000 .M87 1996
     

  • Musical Resources for the Revised Common Lectionary (Scarecrow Press, 1994)  Squires Library - Reference - Ref. ML128.P7 W46 1994
     

  • The New Dictionary of Sacramental Worship (Liturgical Press, 1990)
    Squires Library - Reference - Ref. BV173 .N485 1990
     

  • A Selective Bibliography for the Study of Hymns (Hymn Society of America, [1980])  Squires Library - Reference - Ref. ML128.H8 C47 1980
     

  • With a Voice of Singing: A Selective Bibliography of Master Works from the Clark Hymnology Collection (CBN University, 1984)
    Squires Library - Reference - Ref. ML128.H8 W5
     

  • Worship Music: A Concise Dictionary (Liturgical Press, 2000)
    Squires Library - Reference - Ref ML102.C5 W67 2000

Early Music

Links

Books

  • Early Music (Oxford University Press, current)  PERIODICAL
    Squires Library - Serials Dept. - Current shelves

  • An Early Music Dictionary: Musical Terms from British Sources, 1500-1740 (Cambridge University Press, 1995)
    Squires Library - Reference - ML 108 .S88 1995

  • Early Music Discography: From Plainsong to the Sons of Bach (Oryx Press, 1981)
    Squires Library - Reference - Ref. ML156.2 .C76

  • Tonal Structures in Early Music (Garland Pub., 1998)
    Squires Library - Circulating - ML3811 .T66 1998

American and English Hymns

Books

  • American Psalmody: Or, Titles of Books Containing Tunes Printed in America from 1721 to 1820 (Da Capo Press, 1968)
    Squires Library - Reference - Ref. ML120.UT M3 1968
     

  • American Sacred Music Imprints, 1698-1810: A Bibliography (American Antiquarian Society, 1990)
    Squires Library - Reference - Ref. ML128.H8 B68 1989
     

  • Bibliography of American Hymnals Compiled from the Files of the Dictionary of American Hymnology: A Project of the Hymn Society of America, Inc.  (University Music Editions, 1983) MICROFORM
    Music Res. Ctr. (Music Bldg) Media - Ref. ML128 .B52 1983
     

  • Dictionary of American Hymnology First Line Index: A Project of the Hymn Society of America (University Music Editions, 1984) MICROFORM
    Music Res. Ctr. (Music Bldg) Media - Ref. ML102 .H95 1984
     

  • The Hymn Tune Index: A Census of English-Language Hymn Tunes in Printed Sources from 1535 to 1820 (Oxford University Press, 1998)
    Squires Library - Reference - Ref. ML128.H8 T46 1998
     

  • A Subject Index of Hymns in the English Hymnal & Songs of Praise (University Microfilms International, 1996) MICROFORM
    Music Res. Ctr. (Music Bldg) - Ref. M2136 .E58 1996

Denominational Hymnbooks and Hymn Resources

Following is a small sampling of denominational hymnals and resources that are available on the Internet and in the Squires Library, the Dixon Research Center, and the Music Resource Center. To locate more church hymnals, please search the Library’s online catalog using the following terms:
    HYMNS
    HYMNS, ENGLISH
    denomination - HYMNS    Example:  CHURCH OF GOD (CLEVELAND, TENN.) - HYMNS

See also General Hymn and Liturgy Resources above.

Baptist

  • God's Hymns in MIDI Format

  • The Baptist Hymnal (Convention Press, 1991)
    Music Res. Ctr. (Music Bldg) - M2122 .B18 1991

  • Baptist Hymnal Indices: Considering the 1991 Baptist Hymnal, 1975 Baptist Hymnal, 1956 Baptist Hymnal, and 1940 Broadman Hymnal ( Glory Press, 1993)
    Squires Library - Reference - Ref. ML128.H8 H4 1993

  • Hymn Search CD-ROM 
    Over 3,200 Christian hymns and gospel songs from many denominations. Includes lyrics, scores, MIDI files, pictures, and history.
    Squires Library - Circulation Desk - Media ML3001 .C48 1988 

Catholic

Church of God (Cleveland, Tenn.)

  • Church Hymnal (Tennessee Music and Printing Co., 1951)
    Music Res. Ctr. (Music Bldg) & Dixon Research Center - M2117.C58 T4

  • Hymn Search CD-ROM 
    Over 3,200 Christian hymns and gospel songs from many denominations. Includes lyrics, scores, MIDI files, pictures, and history.
    Squires Library - Circulation Desk - Media ML3001 .C48 1988 

  • Hymns of the Spirit (Pathway Press, 1969).
    Music Res. Ctr. (Music Bldg) & Dixon Research Center - M2131.H95 1969

  • Rayos de Esperanza (Editorial Evangélica, 1977)
    Squires Library - Circulating & Dixon Research Center - M2131.C59 .R39 1977

Church of God in Christ

  • Yes, Lord!: Church of God in Christ Hymnal (Church of God in Christ Publishing Board in association with the Benson Co., 1982)
    Dixon Research Center Pent. - M2131.C63 Y47

Episcopal

  •  A Concordance of The Hymnal 1982: According to the Use of the Episcopal Church (Scarecrow Press, 1989)
    Squires Library - Reference - Ref. M2125.H974 C66 1989

  • Hymn Search CD-ROM 
    Over 3,200 Christian hymns and gospel songs from many denominations. Includes lyrics, scores, MIDI files, pictures, and history.
    Squires Library - Circulation Desk - Media ML3001 .C48 1988 

Evangelical

  • Dictionary-Handbook to Hymns for the Living Church (Hope Publishing Company, 1978)
    Squires Library - Reference - Ref. ML102.H95 H8

  • Evangelicals on the Canterbury Trail: Why Evangelicals are Attracted to the Liturgical Church, by Robert Webber (Morehouse-Barlow, 1989, 1985)
    Squires Library - Circulating - BR1640 .W42 1989

  • A History of Evangelistic Hymnody, by James Sallee (Baker Book House, 1978)
    Squires Library - Circulating - ML3186 .S18

Lutheran

  • Hymn Search CD-ROM 
    Over 3,200 Christian hymns and gospel songs from many denominations. Includes lyrics, scores, MIDI files, pictures, and history.
    Squires Library - Circulation Desk - Media ML3001 .C48 1988 

  • Lutheran Hymnal
    Traditional songs of worship and praise from Lutheran hymnals presented in MIDI, in MP3, in lyrics, and in sheet music.

  • A Guide to Music for the Church Year (Augsburg Publishing House [1962?])
    Squires Library - Reference - Ref. ML128.P7 G8 1962

Methodist

  • Hymn Search CD-ROM 
    Over 3,200 Christian hymns and gospel songs from many denominations. Includes lyrics, scores, MIDI files, pictures, and history.
    Squires Library - Circulation Desk - Media ML3001 .C48 1988 

  • Hymnsite.com
    Lyrics and MIDI recordings for hymns from the United Methodist hymnal. MIDI recordings of piano, organ, or bells.

  • Guide to the Hymns and Tunes of American Methodism (Greenwood Press, 1986)
    Squires Library - Reference - Ref. BV415.A1 R64 1986

  • Methodist Hymnal Concordance (Scarecrow Press, 1987)
    Music Res. Ctr.(Music Bldg) - M2127 .M472 1987

Pentecostal and Charismatic

For links, see Contemporary Christian and Praise/Worship Music.

For print resources, see General Hymn and Liturgy Resources above.

See also Church of God (Cleveland, Tenn.) and Church of God in Christ.

For sacred harp music, see Southern Gospel and Christian Country Music.

Hymn Search CD-ROM 
Over 3,200 Christian hymns and gospel songs from many denominations. Includes lyrics, scores, MIDI files, pictures, and history.
Squires Library - Circulation Desk - Media ML3001 .C48 1988 

Presbyterian

  • Hymn Search CD-ROM 
    Over 3,200 Christian hymns and gospel songs from many denominations. Includes lyrics, scores, MIDI files, pictures, and history.
    Squires Library - Circulation Desk - Media ML3001 .C48 1988 

  • The New Westminster Dictionary of Liturgy and Worship (Westminster Press, 1986)
    Squires Library - Reference - Ref. BV173 .N48 1986

Searching the Online Catalog

Suggested subject headings for searching the online catalog:

anthems

canons, fugues, etc.

cantillation

cantors

chants (jewish)

choruses, sacred

church music - church of god (cleveland, tenn)

church music - dictionaries

church music - france

church music - orthodox church

church music - pentecostal churches

church music - protestant

contemporary christian music

gospel music

hymns

hymns, english

jews - music

litanies (music)

liturgics

liturgy

Also subdivision liturgy following name of Christian sect or denomination

music - century  (Example:
MUSIC - 17TH CENTURY)

pentecostal churches - choruses

pentecostal churches - hymns

psalters

sacred songs

service books (music)

synagogue music - dictionaries

tune-books

Special Occasions

advent music

carols

christmas music

easter music

funeral music

lenten music

pentecost festival - music

requiems

wedding music

 

 

back to top

 
Library Menu


 

  Lee University


© 1997 - 2010 · Privacy Statement · Campus Map · Weather in Cleveland · Weather in Charlotte
Lee University · 1120 North Ocoee Street · Cleveland, TN · 37320-3450 · 1-800-LEE-9930
Current Visitors for library.leeuniversity.edu: 5· A-Z Index · Web Requests & Standards · Send Feedback