Lee University, Cleveland TN
Lee University, Cleveland TN
Lee University - Library Header


Church Music: Vocal
   

This guide lists starting points for locating information on Church Music. For more resources, please consult the Library's homepage or consult a reference librarian for assistance (423) 614-8562.

 

 

Links

General Church Music

American Society of Composers, Authors, and Publishers (ASCAP)  <http://www.ascap.com>

Christian Fellowship of Art Music Composers   <http://www.cfamc.org>

Christian Performing Artist's Fellowship  <http://www.christianperformingart.org/>

ChristianRadio.com  <http://christianradio.com>
Searchable database of Christian radio stations, programs, and artists.

Church Music Associations, Guides, and Societies  <http://www.musicoutfitters.com/church1.htm>

Church Music Report: Links  <http://www.tcmr.com/links.html>
Links to church music products and services.

Voice of the Shuttle: Music  <http://vos.ucsb.edu/browse.asp?id=2722>
Links to a wide range music sites.

back to top

Local Organizations (Cleveland/Chattanooga, TN)

Allied Arts of Greater Chattanooga  <http://www.alliedartschattanooga.org/>
Information about Chattanooga arts and music events.

Lee University School of Music, Cleveland, TN  <http://flame.leeuniversity.edu/music/>

Museum Center at 5 Points, Cleveland, TN  <http://www.museumcenter.org>
Hosts arts events, including community concerts for the Cleveland, TN area.

Pathway Bookstore, Cleveland, TN  <http://www.pathwaybookstore.com>
Bookstore of the Church of God, Cleveland, TN.

SpiritSound Music Group, Cleveland, TN  <http://www.spiritsoundmusic.com/home.cfm>
SpiritSound Music Group is a full service music company and trade name for print and recorded music produced by the Department of Music Ministries for the Church of God in Cleveland, Tennessee.

White Wing Christian Bookstore, Cleveland, TN  <http://www.whitewingbooks.com>
Bookstore of the Church of God of Prophecy, Cleveland, TN.

back to top

Online Catalog Subject Headings

church music

music in churches

music in the biblE

music - religious aspects

religion and music

 

back to top

Books

Bibliography of American Hymnals. Compiled From the Files of the Dictionary of American Hymnology: A Project of the Hymn Society of America, Inc. (University Music Editions, 1983)  MICROFORM
Music Res. Ctr. (Music Bldg) - Media Ref. ML128 .B52 1983

The Christian Music Directories [The Music Locator] (Resource Publications 1995- )
Music Res. Ctr. (Music Bldg) - Ref. ML128.C54  C569 

Church Music: An International Bibliography (Scarecrow Press, 1980)
Squires Library - Reference - Ref. ML128.C54 V66

A Dictionary of Protestant Church Music (Scarecrow Press, 1975)
Squires Library - Reference - Ref. ML102.C5 D33

Dictionary of Western Church Music (American Library Association, 1991)
Squires Library - Reference - Ref. ML102.C5 P77 1991

Key Words in Church Music: Definition Essays on Concepts, Practices, and Movements of Thought in Church Music (Concordia Pub. House, 1978)
Squires Library - Reference - Ref. ML102.C5 K5

The Music and Dance of the World's Religions: A Comprehensive, Annotated Bibliography of Materials in the English Language (Greenwood Press, 1996)
Squires Library - Reference - Ref. ML128.S2 R87 1996

Music & Ministry: A Biblical Counterpoint (Hendrickson Publishers, 1984)
Squires Library - Circulating - ML3869 .J6

The Music of the Bible, With Some Account of the Development of Modern Musical Instruments from Ancient Types (Da Capo Press, 1970)
Squires Library - Circulating - ML166 .S783 1970

Psalms, Hymns, and Spiritual Songs: What the Bible Says About Music, by Donald Thiessen (Cornerstone Press Chicago, 1994)
Squires Library - Circulating - ML166 .T45 1994

The Story of Christian Music: From Gregorian Chant to Black Gospel: An Authoritative Illustrated Guide to All the Major Traditions of Music for Worship (Fortress Press, 1996)
Squires Library - Circulating - ML3000 .W54 1996

Twentieth Century Church Music (Oxford University Press, 1964)
Squires Library - Circulating - ML3131 .R68

Worship Music: A Concise Dictionary (Liturgical Press, 2000)
Squires Library - Reference - Ref. ML102.C5 W67 2000

 

back to top

 
Library Menu


 

  Lee University


© 1997 - 2010 · Privacy Statement · Campus Map · Weather in Cleveland · Weather in Charlotte
Lee University · 1120 North Ocoee Street · Cleveland, TN · 37320-3450 · 1-800-LEE-9930
Current Visitors for library.leeuniversity.edu: 5· A-Z Index · Web Requests & Standards · Send Feedback