Lee University, Cleveland TN
Lee University, Cleveland TN
Lee University - Library Header


Critical Thinking General Resources 
   

Critical Thinking General Resources

This guide lists starting points for locating information about Critical Thinking topics. For more resources, please consult the Library's homepage or consult a reference librarian for assistance (423) 614-8562.

Links

  • Critical Thinking Consortium 
    This website sponsored by The Center for Critical Thinking, Sonoema State, includes instructional guides and lesson plans designed to help educators implement critical thinking in all aspects of their teaching.

  • Critical Thinking Links 
    This University of Missouri webpage lists a few links to universities with critical thinking programs. 

  • Critical Thinking on the Web 
    This website offers articles, links, and bibliographies on various aspects of critical thinking. The site is sponsored by Austhink, a consulting firm located in Australia. The firm attempts to "help bridge the gap between academic knowledge and the urgent demands of the everyday world for better thinking."   

  • Library Subject Research Guides. William G. Squires Library 
    The Library's general and discipline-specific research guides assist students in locating a wide variety of resources, including: Internet resources, databases, and books and other materials in the Squires Library.
    Also, the guides may be used to assist students in conceptualizing in their discipline and in thinking critically about their information needs.

  • Worldview/Cultural Links 
    Compiled by the Chattanooga Resource Foundation, this page provides links to popular Christian sites that contain insights and resources regarding Christian worldview. 

  • WWW Links to Resources for Teaching Reasoning and Critical Thinking 
    This site includes links to a variety of critical thinking web resources. Compiled by William Pierce, Prince George's Community College.

 

back to top

 

Search the Online Catalog

Following are selected subject headings related to critical thinking. To search these terms in the online catalog, click on the links below or go to the online catalog and conduct a subject or keyword search.

cognition

COGNITION AND CULTURE

COGNITIVE LEARNING

cognitive science

comprehension

creative thinking

critical pedagogy

critical theory

critical thinking
- ability testing
- study and teaching

criticism

 

decision making 

education

ethics

fallacies (logic)

intellect

intentionalism

judgment (logic)

KNOWLEDGE, THEORY OF

LEARNING

logic

MULTICULTURALISM

philosophy

problem solving

qualitative reasoning

reality

reasoning

tHought and thinking

truth

united states - intellectual life

values

wisdom
- biblical teaching
- religious aspects

 

back to top

 

Critical Thinking and Reasoning

General

Baier, Annette. The Commons of the Mind. Chicago: Open Court, 1997.
§ BD175 .B33 1997

Conway, David, and Ronald Munson. The Elements of Reasoning. Belmont, Calif.: Wadsworth/Thomson Learning, 2000.
§ BC177 .C67 2000  

The Creative Cognition Approach. Cambridge, Mass.: MIT Press, 1995.
¾ NetLibrary eBook

Finke, Ronald A. Creative Cognition Theory, Research, and Applications. Cambridge, Mass.: MIT Press, 1996.
¾ NetLibrary eBook

Diestler, Sherry. Becoming a Critical Thinker: A User-Friendly Manual. Upper Saddle River, N.J.: Prentice Hall, 1998.
§ LB2395.35 .D54 1998

Egan, Kieran. The Educated Mind: How Cognitive Tools Shape Our Understanding. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1998.
¾ NetLibrary eBook

Fearnside, W. Ward. About Thinking. Upper Saddle River, N.J.: Prentice Hall, 1997.
§ BC71 .F4 1997

Fisher, Alec. Critical Thinking: An Introduction. New York: Cambridge University Press, 2001.
§ B809.2 .F58 2001

Gigerenzer, Gerd, and Reinhard Selten. Bounded Rationality: The Adaptive Toolbox. Cambridge, Mass.: MIT Press, 2001.
§ BF448 .B67 2001  

Goble, Lou, ed. Blackwell Guide to Philosophical Logic. Blackwell Publishers, 2001.
§ BC71 .B565 2001

Halpern, Diane F. Thinking Critically about Critical Thinking. Mahwah, N.J.: L. Erlbaum Associates, 1996.
§ BF441 .H249 1996

_____. Thought and Knowledge: An Introduction to Critical Thinking. Mahwah, N.J.: L. Erlbaum Associates, 1996.
§ BF441 .H25 1996

Hintikka, Jaakko and James Bachman. What if-- ?: Toward Excellence in Reasoning. Mountain View, Ca.: Mayfield Pub., 1991.
§ BC177 .H56 1991

Kahane, Howard. Logic and Contemporary Rhetoric: The Use of Reason in Everyday Life. Belmont, Calif.: Wadsworth Pub. Co., 1995.
§ BC177 .K34 1995  

Kelley, David. The Art of Reasoning. New York: W.W. Norton, 1998.
§ BC177 .K38 1998  

Manktelow, Ken. Reasoning and Thinking. Psychology Press, 1999.
¾ NetLibrary eBook

Paul, Richard and Linda Elder. Critical Thinking: Tools for Taking Charge of Your Learning and Your Life. Upper Saddle River, N.J.: Prentice Hall, 2001.
§ B809.2 .P38 2001  

_____. Critical Thinking: Tools for Taking Charge of Your Professional and Personal Life. Upper Saddle River, N.J.: Financial Times/Prentice Hall, 2002.
§ BF441 .P385 2002

Smith, Frank. To Think. New York: Teachers College Press, 1990.
§ BC177 .S59 1990

Thayer-Bacon, Barbara J. Transforming Critical Thinking: Thinking Constructively. New York: Teachers College Press, 2000.
§ BC177 .T45 2000

Toulmin, Stephen Edelston. Return to Reason. Cambridge, Mass.: Harvard University Press, 2001.
§ BC177 .T596 2001  

Waller, Bruce N. Critical Thinking: Consider the Verdict. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Prentice Hall, 1998.
§ BC177 .W3 1998

Warburton, Nigel. Thinking from A to Z. New York: Routledge, 2000.
§ Ref. BC177 .W345 2000
¾ NetLibrary eBook

Multicultural Aspects

Elmer, Duane. Cross-Cultural Connections: Stepping Out and Fitting in Around the World. Downers Grove, Ill.: InterVarsity Press, 2002.
§ BV2082.I57 E46 2002

Shiraev, Eric. Introduction to Cross-Cultural Psychology: Critical Thinking and Contemporary Applications. Boston, Mass.: London: Allyn and Bacon, 2001.
§ GN502 .S475 2001

Weiner, Robert. Creativity & Beyond: Cultures, Values, and Change. Albany, NY: State University of New York Press, 2000.
¾ NetLibrary eBook

Religious and Ethical Aspects

See also:
"
Ethics" section of this guide 
Library's guide Critical Thinking: Religion.

Cobb, John B. Becoming a Thinking Christian. Nashville: Abingdon Press, 1993.
§ BT77 .C56 1993

Morgan, Donn F. The Making of Sages: Biblical Wisdom and Contemporary Culture. Harrisburg, Pa.: Trinity Press International, 2002.
§ BS1455 .M675 2002

O'Connell, Timothy E. Making Disciples: A Handbook of Christian Moral Formation. New York: Crossroad Pub., 1998.
§ BV1464 .O26 1998

Virkler, Henry A. A Christian's Guide to Critical Thinking. Nashville: Thomas Nelson, 1993.
§ BS476 .V533 1993  

Journal Articles

Collins, Kenneth J. "Spirituality and Critical Thinking: Are They Really So Different?" Evangelical Journal 16 (1998): 30-43.
§ Available: In Squires Library

Evans, Jonathan St. B. T., and  Valerie A. Thompson. "Informal Reasoning: Theory and Method." Canadian Journal of Experimental Psychology 58 (2004): 69-74.
¾ Available: In database - PsycArticles

Shin, Sun-Joo. "Heterogeneous Reasoning and Its Logic." The Bulletin of Symbolic Logic 10 (2004): 86-106.
¾
Available: Database - JSTOR

Michalko, Michael. "From Bright Ideas to Right Ideas: Capturing the Creative Spark: Thinking in New Ways Opens the Mind to Boundless Possibilities and Creative Solutions (Outside the Box)." The Futurist 37 (2003): 52(5).
¾ Available: Database - Expanded Academic ASAP

Noddings, Nel. "War, Critical Thinking, and Self-Understanding." Phi Delta Kappan  85 (2004): 488. 
¾ Available: Database - Expanded Academic ASAP

Richards, Lawrence O. "Critical Thinking and Christian Perspective." Christian Education Journal 15 (1994): 13-20.
¾ Available: Database - Expanded Academic ASAP)

Zhang, Li-Fang. "Contributions of Thinking Styles to Critical Thinking Dispositions.." The Journal of Psychology 137 (2003): 517(28).
§ Available: In Squires Library

 

back to top

 

Argument, Decision Making, and Problem Solving

Argument

Boylan, Michael. The Process of Argument. Lanham, Md.: University Press of America, 1993.
§ PE1431 .B69 1993 

Carey, Stephen S. The Uses and Abuses of Argument: Critical Thinking and Fallacious Reasoning. Mountain View, Calif.: Mayfield Pub., 2000.
§ BF441 .C278 2000  

Cederblom, J. B., and David W. Paulsen. Critical Reasoning: Understanding and Criticizing Arguments and Theories. Belmont, Calif.: Wadsworth, 1982.
§ BC177 .C4  

Fisher, Alec. The Logic of Real Arguments. New York: Cambridge University Press, 1988.
§ BC177 .F57 1988  

Hollihan, Thomas A., and Kevin T. Baaske. Arguments and Arguing: The Products and Process of Human Decision Making. Prospect Heights, Ill.: Waveland Press, Inc., 1998.
§ PN4181 .H64 1998

Infante, Dominic A., Joseph A. DeVito, and Robert E. Denton, eds. Arguing Constructively. Prospect Heights, Ill.: Waveland Press, 1988.
§ PN4181 .I56 1988  

Makau, Josina M, and Debian L. Marty. Cooperative Argumentation: A Model for Deliberative Community. Prospect Heights, Ill.: Waveland Press, 2001. 
§ BC177 .M352 2001

Nosich, Gerald M. Reasons and Arguments. Belmont, Calif.: Wadsworth Pub. Co., 1982.
§ BC177 .N67  

Rottenberg, Annette T. Elements of Argument: A Text and Reader. Boston: Bedford Books of St. Martin's Press, 1991.
§ PE1431 .R68 1991  

Shand, John. Arguing Well. New York: Routledge, 2000.
§ BC177 .S45 2000  

Weston, Anthony. A Rulebook for Arguments. Indianapolis: Hackett Pub. Co., 1992.
§ BC177 .W47 1992  

Decision Making

Fitzgerald, Stephen P. Decision Making. Oxford, U.K.: Capstone Pub., 2002. 
¾ NetLibrary eBook

Hammond, John S. Smart Choices: A Practical Guide to Making Better Decisions. Boston, Mass.: Harvard Business School Press, 1999.
¾ NetLibrary eBook

Problem Solving

Mitroff, Ian I. Smart Thinking for Crazy Times: The Art of Solving the Right Problems. San Francisco: Berrett-Koehler Publishers, 1998.
§ BF449 .M6 1998  

Noone, Donald J. Creative Problem Solving. Hauppauge, NY: Barron's Educational Series, 1998. 
§ HD30.29 .N66 1998

Whimbey, Arthur, and Jack Lochhead. Problem Solving and Comprehension. Hillsdale, N.J.: L. Erlbaum Associates, 1991.
§ BF449 .W45 1991  

Multicultural Aspects

Brett, Jeanne M. Negotiating Globally: How to Negotiate Deals, Resolve Disputes, and Make Decisions Across Cultural Boundaries. San Francisco, Calif : Jossey-Bass, 2001.
¾ NetLibrary eBook

Cultural Divides: Understanding and Overcoming Group Conflict. New York: Russell Sage Foundation, 1999.
§ GN496 .C8 1999

Religious and Ethical Aspects

See also:
"Ethics" section of this guide 
"God's Will and Call career guide

Elford, R. John. Ethics of Uncertainty: A New Christian Approach to Moral Decision-Making. Boston: Oneworld, 2000.
§ BJ1419 .E44 2000

Foot, Philippa. Moral Dilemmas and Other Topics in Moral Philosophy. New York: Oxford University Press, 2002.
§ BJ1031 .F64 2002

Howard, Evan B. Affirming the Touch of God: A Psychological and Philosophical Exploration of Christian Discernment. Lanham, Md: University Press of America, 2000. § BV4509.5 .H67 2000

Journal Articles

Duplass, James A., and Dana L. Ziedler. "Promoting Creativity in Temporary Problem-Solving Groups: The Effects of Positive Mood and Autonomy in Problem Definition on Idea-Generating Performance." Group Dynamics 7 (2003): 200-213.
¾ Available: In database - PsycArticles

Fobes, Richard. "Creative Problem Solving: A Way to Forecast and Create a Better Future." The Futurist  30(1996): 19(4).
¾ Available: In database - Expanded Academic ASAP

Grawitch, Matthew J., et al. "Critical Thinking and Logical Argument..." Social Education 66 (2002): M10(4).
¾ Available: In database - Expanded Academic ASAP

 

back to top

 

Ethics

General

Cahn, Steven M., and Peter Markie, eds. Ethics: History, Theory, and Contemporary Issues. New York: Oxford University Press, 1998.
§ BJ1012 .E8944 1998

Lewis, Hunter. A Question of Values: Six Ways We Make the Personal Choices That Shape Our Lives. San Francisco: HarperSanFrancisco, 1991.
§ BD232 .L48 1991

Oderberg, David S. Applied Ethics: A Non-Consequentialist Approach. Malden, Mass. Blackwell Publishers, 2000.
§ BJ1031 .O34 2000

Taylor, Richard. Virtue Ethics: An Introduction. Amherst, NY: Prometheus Books, 2002.  § BJ1521 .T18 2002

Multicultural Aspects

Applied Ethics: A Multicultural Approach. Englewood Collins, N.J.: Prentice Hall, 1994.
§
BJ1031 .A66 1994)

Markham, Ian S. Plurality and Christian Ethics. New York: Seven Bridges Press, 1999. ¾ ¾ NetLibrary eBook

Swanton, Christine. Virtue Ethics: A Pluralistic View. New York: Oxford University Press, 2003.
§ BJ1531 .S93 2003

Walzer, Michael. Thick and Thin: Moral Argument at Home and Abroad. Notre Dame: University of Notre Dame Press, 1994.
§ BJ1531 .S93 2003

Religious Aspects

Banner, Michael. Christian Ethics and Contemporary Moral Problems. New York: Cambridge University Press, 1999. 
§ BJ1251 .B28 1999

The Cambridge Companion to Christian Ethics. New York: Cambridge University Press, 2001.
§ BJ1251 .C246 2001

Eckman, James P. Christian Ethics in a Postmodern World. Wheaton, IL : Evangelical Training Association, 1999.
§ BJ1251 .E26 1999

Hollinger, Dennis P. Choosing the Good: Christian Ethics in a Complex World. Grand Rapids, Mich.: Baker Academic, 2002.
§ BJ1251 .H585 2002

Kirkpatrick, Frank G. The Ethics of Community. Malden, Mass.: Blackwell, 2001.
§ BJ1251 .K52 2001

Moreland, James Porter. Body & Soul: Human Nature & the Crisis in Ethics. Downers Grove, Ill: InterVarsity Press, 2000.
§ BT701.2 .M5745 2000

Journal Articles

Buell, Lawrence. "Ethics as Objectivity: A Necessary Oxymoron? New Literary History, 32 (2001): 855-857.
¾ Available: In database - JSTOR

"Postmodern Ethics." Canadian Journal of Sociology 21 (1996): 559-62. 
¾ Available: In database - Expanded Academic ASAP

Laudon, Kenneth C. "Ethical Concepts and Information Technology." Communications of the ACM 38 (1995): 33(7).
¾ Available: In database - Expanded Academic ASAP
 

 

back to top

 

aah_updated 8/20/08

William G. Squires Library

http://library.leeuniversity.edu (423) 614-8550

260 11th Street NE, Cleveland, TN 37311

Serving Lee University and the Church of God Theological Seminary

Library Menu


 

  Lee University


© 1997 - 2009 · Privacy Statement · Campus Map · Weather in Cleveland · Weather in Charlotte
Lee University · 1120 North Ocoee Street · Cleveland, TN · 37320-3450 · 1-800-LEE-9930
Current Visitors for library.leeuniversity.edu: 27· A-Z Index · Web Requests & Standards · Send Feedback