Lee University, Cleveland TN
Lee University, Cleveland TN
Lee University - Library Header


Critical Thinking - In the University
   

Critical Thinking - In the University

This guide lists starting points for locating information about Critical Thinking topics. For more resources, please consult the Library's homepage or consult a reference librarian for assistance (423) 614-8562.

Links
  • Critical Thinking Consortium 
    This website sponsored by The Center for Critical Thinking, Sonoma State, includes instructional guides and lesson plans designed to help educators implement critical thinking in all aspects of their teaching.

  • Critical Thinking Links 
    This University of Missouri webpage lists a few links to universities with critical thinking programs. 

  • Critical Thinking on the Web 
    This website offers articles, links, and bibliographies on various aspects of critical thinking. The site is sponsored by Austhink, a consulting firm located in Australia. The firm attempts to "help bridge the gap between academic knowledge and the urgent demands of the everyday world for better thinking."   

  • Library Subject Research Guides. William G. Squires Library 
    The Library's general and discipline-specific research guides assist students in locating a wide variety of resources, including: Internet resources, databases, and books and other materials in the Squires Library.
    Also, the guides may be used to assist students in conceptualizing in their discipline and in thinking critically about their information needs.

  • Worldview/Cultural Links 
    Compiled by the Chattanooga Resource Foundation, this page provides links to popular Christian sites that contain insights and resources regarding Christian worldview. 

  • WWW Links to Resources for Teaching Reasoning and Critical Thinking 
    This site includes links to a variety of critical thinking web resources. Compiled by William Pierce, Prince George's Community College.

 

back to top

 
Online Catalog Subject Headings

Following are selected subject headings related to teaching critical thinking. To search these terms in order to locate books, eBooks, or videos, use the basic ?Subject Search? feature of the Library's online catalog.

ACADEMIC FREEDOM

COGNITIVE LEARNING

college student orientation

college students

computer-assisted instruction

critical pedagogy

critical thinking 
- ability testing
- study and teaching

CURRICULUM PLANNING

distance education

education
- MORAL AND ETHICAL ASPECTS
- philosophy
- RELIGIOUS ASPECTS
- RESEARCH
- SOCIAL ASPECTS

education equalization

educational psychology

effective teaching

instructions systems - planning

internet in education

INTERNSHIPS

KNOWLEDGE, THEORY OF

LEARNING
- PHILOSOPHY
- RELIGIOUS ASPECTS
- SOCIAL ASPECTS

LEARNING AND SCHOLARSHIP

LEARNING, PSYCHOLOGY OF

multicultural education

MULTICULTURALISM

scholasticism

 

study skills
See also subdivision - study and teaching under individual subjects,  e.g. art - study and teaching

TEACHING
- MORAL AND ETHICAL ASPECTS
- PHILOSOPHY
- PSYCHOLOGICAL ASPECTS
- RELIGIOUS ASPECTS
- RESEARCH
- SOCIAL ASPECTS

tEACHING METHODS

THOUGHT AND THINKING
- STUDY AND TEACHING

voluntarism

 

back to top

 
Teaching Methods

Books

General

Beane, James A. Curriculum Integration: Designing the Core of Democratic Education. New York: Teachers College Press, 1997. (LB2806.15 .B43 1997 and NetLibrary eBook)  

The Blackwell Guide to the Philosophy of Education. Malden, MA: Blackwell Pub., 2003. (LB14.7 .B57 2003)

Brookfield, Stephen. Becoming a Critically Reflective Teacher. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass, 1995. (LB2331 .B677 1995)  

_____. Developing Critical Thinkers: Challenging Adults to Explore Alternative Ways of Thinking and Acting. Jossey-Bass, 1987. (BF441 .B79 1987)  

Engaging Students: Thinking, Talking, Cooperating. Thousand Oaks, Calif.: Corwin Press, 1995. (LB1033.5 .E54 1995)

Halpern, Diane F. Critical Thinking Across the Curriculum: A Brief Edition of Thought and Knowledge. Mahwah, N.J.: L. Erlbaum Associates, 1997. (BF441 .H246 1997)  

Hunkins, Francis P. Teaching Thinking Through Effective Questioning. Norwood, Mass.: Christopher-Gordon Publishers, Inc., 1995. (LB1027.44 .H855 1995)  

Johnson, David W., Roger T. Johnson,and Karl A. Smith. Academic Controversy: Enriching College Instruction Through Intellectual Conflict. Washington, D.C.: Graduate School of Education and Human Development, George Washington University, [1996]. (LB2331 .J53)

Nelson, Jack L. Critical Issues in Education: A Dialectic Approach. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1996. (LA217.2 .N45 1996)

Preparing Competent College Graduates: Setting New and Higher Expectations for Student Learning. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass Publishers, 1996. (LB2328.2 .P65 1996)

Sternberg, Robert J. Teaching for Thinking. Washington: American Psychological Association, 1996. (LB1590.3 .S74 1996)

Wilks, Susan. Critical & Creative Thinking: Strategies for Classroom Inquiry. Portsmouth, NH: Heinemann, 1995. (LB1590.3 .W54 1995)  

Distance Education

See also:
"Technology" section of this guide

Library's Critical Thinking: Computer Science guide <http://library.leeuniversity.edu/guides/general/critical_thinking/computerscience.htm>.

Distance Learners in Higher Education: Institutional Responses for Quality Outcomes. Madison, Wis.: Atwood Pub., 1998. (LC5805 .D583 1998)

Hanna, Donald E. 147 Practical Tips for Teaching Online Groups: Essentials of Web-Based Education. Madison, Wis.: Atwood Pub., 2000. (LB1044.87 .H35 2000)

Palloff, Rena M. Building Learning Communities in Cyberspace: Effective Strategies for the Online Classroom. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass Publishers, 1999. (LC5805 .P35 1999)

Weller, Martin. Delivering Learning on the Net: The Why, What & How of Online Education. New York: RoutledgeFalmer, 2003. (LB1028.5 .W45 2003)

Internships and Multicultural Education

See also the Library's career guides:

Internships and Volunteer Opportunities

International Jobs

Christian and Non-Profit Jobs
 

Boyle-Baise, Marilynne. Multicultural Service Learning: Educating Teachers in Diverse Communities. New York: Teachers College Press, 2002. (LC1099 .B69 2002)

Byram, Michael. Teaching and Assessing Intercultural Communicative Competence. Clevedon: Multilingual Matters, 1997. (NetLibrary eBook)

Education for the Intercultural Experience. Yarmouth, Me.: Intercultural Press, 1993. (LC1099 .E347 1993)

Handbook of Intercultural Training. Thousand Oaks, Calif.: Sage Publications, 1996. (GN496 .H36 1996)

Hicks, D. Emily. Ninety-Five Languages and Seven Forms of Intelligence: Education in the Twenty-First Century. New York: P. Lang, 1999. (LC196 .H53 1999)

Green, Marianne Ehrlich. Internship Success: Real-World, Step-By-Step Advice on Getting the Most Out of Internships. Lincolnwood, Ill.: VGM Career Horizons, 1997. (NetLibrary eBook)

Internships: Perspectives on Experiential Learning: A Guide to Internship Management for Educators and Professionals. Malabar, Fla.: Krieger Pub. Co., 1992. (P91.3 .I57 1992)

Lingenfelter, Judith. Teaching Cross-Culturally: An Incarnation Model for Learning and Teaching. Grand Rapids, Mich.: Baker Academic, 2003. (LB45 .L53 2003)

Scannell, James J. Shaping the College Experience Outside the Classroom. Rochester: University of Rochester Press, 1996. (NetLibrary eBook)

Valuing Diversity: Multi-Cultural Communication. Lake Zurich, Ill.: Learning Seed, 1995. VIDEORECORDING (Media HM258 .V3 1995)

Literacy and Writing

Bean, John C. Engaging Ideas: The Professor's Guide to Integrating Writing, Critical Thinking, and Active Learning in the Classroom. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass, 2001. (on order)  

Gage, John T. The Shape of Reason: Argumentative Writing in College. New York: Macmillan Pub., 1991. (PE1431 .G34 1991)  

Grassian, Esther S. Information Literacy Instruction: Theory and Practice. New York: Neal-Schuman, 2001. (Book and CD-ROM - ZA3075 .G73 2001)

Heiman, Marcia, and Johsua Slomianko, eds. Thinking Skills Instruction: Concepts and Techniques. Washington, D.C.: National Education Association, 1987. (LB1570.3 .T47 1987)  

Religious and Ethical Aspects

See also:
Critical Thinking: General Resources, "Ethics" section <http://library.leeuniversity.edu/guides/critical_thinking/disciplines. htm>

"Religious and Ethical Aspects" under particular Disciplines <http://library.leeuniversity.edu/guides/critical_thinking/general. htm>

Nash, Robert J. "Real World" Ethics: Frameworks for Educators and Human Service Professionals. New York: Teachers College Press, 2002. (BJ66 .N37 2002)

Noddings, Nel. Educating Moral People: A Caring Alternative to Character Education. New York: Teachers College Press, 2002. (LC268 .N56 2002)

O'Connell, Timothy E. Making Disciples: A Handbook of Christian Moral Formation. New York: Crossroad Pub., 1998. (BV1464 .O26 1998)

Shaping a Christian Worldview: The Foundations of Christian Higher Education. Nashville, TN: Broadman & Holman, 2002. (LC383 .S45 2002)

Technology

For additional computer-assisted instruction resources, see also:
Critical Thinking: Computer Science <http://library.leeuniversity.edu/guides/critical_thinking/disciplines/computer.htm>.

Forcier, Richard C. The Computer as an Educational Tool: Productivity and Problem Solving. Englewood Cliffs, N.J.: Merrill/Prentice Hall, 2005. (LB1028.43 .F67 2005)

Frechette, Julie D. Developing Media Literacy in Cyberspace: Pedagogy and Critical Learning for the Twenty-First-Century Classroom. Westport, Conn.: Praeger, 2002. (LC149.5 .F74 2002)

How Technology is Changing Institutional Research. San Francisco : Jossey-Bass Publishers, 1999. (LB2326.3 .H69 1999)  

Maier, Pat. Integr@ting Technology in Learning & Teaching: A Practical Guide for Educators. L Sterling, Va.: Stylus Publishing, 2000. (LB1028.3 .M35 2000)   

Journal Articles

Bauer, Karen W. "The Effect of Personality and Precollege Characteristics on First-Year Activities and Academic Performance." Journal of College Student Development 44 (2003): 277-290. (Available: In database - Project Muse)

Elmore, Garland C. "Planning and Developing a Multimedia Learning Environment. (Office of Learning Technologies, Indiana University/Purdue University at Indianapolis)."  T H E Journal (Technological Horizons In Education) 18 (1991): 83(6). (Available: In database - Expanded Academic ASAP)

Gellin, Alan. "The Effect of Undergraduate Student Involvement on Critical Thinking: A Meta-Analysis of the Literature 1991-2000."  Journal of College Student Development 44 (2003): 746-762 (Available: In database - Project Muse)

Hagedorn, Linda Serra. "Institutional Context and the Development of Critical Thinking: A Research Note." The Review of Higher Education 22 (1999): 265-285. (Available: In database - Project Muse)

Halpern, Diane F., and Milton D. Hakel. "Applying the Science of Learning to the University and Beyond: Teaching for Long-Term Retention and Transfer." Change 35 (2003): 36(6). (Available: In database - Expanded Academic ASAP)

Harris, Natalie. "A Teacher Learns to Let Her Students Be." The Chronicle of Higher Education  49 (2003): B5(1). (Available: In Squires Library)

Payne Brian K., and Randy R. Gainey. "Understanding and Developing Controversial Issues in College Courses." College Teaching 51 (2003): 52(7). (Available: In database - Expanded Academic ASAP)

Tsui, Lisa. "Effects of Campus Culture on Students' Critical Thinking." The Review of Higher Education 23 (2000): 421-441. (Available: In database - Project Muse)

 

back to top

 
Learning

Books

General

501 Challenging Logic and Reasoning Problems. New York, NY: Learning Express, 1999. (NetLibrary eBook)  

Collaborative Learning: Underlying Processes and Effective Techniques. San Francisco, Calif.: Jossey-Bass, 1994. (LB1032 .C586 1994)

Donald, Janet Gail. Learning to Think: Disciplinary Perspectives. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass, 2002. (LB1060 .D64 2002)

Eiffert, Stephen D. Cross-Train Your Brain: A Mental Fitness Program for Maximizing Creativity and Achieving Success. New York: AMACOM, 1999. (NetLibrary eBook)

Engel, Susan. Context is Everything: The Nature of Memory. New York: W.H. Freeman, 1999. (NetLibrary eBook)

Feldman, Robert S. P.O.W.E.R. Learning: Strategies for Success in College and Life. Boston: McGraw-Hill, 2000.

Handbook of Academic Learning: Construction of Knowledge. San Diego: Academic Press, 1997. (LB1060 .H3456 1996)

Gilbert, Sara D. How to Be a Successful Online Student. New York : McGraw-Hill, c2001. (LC5803.C65 G55 2001)

Johnson, Elaine B. Contextual Teaching and Learning: What It Is and Why It's Here to Stay. Thousand Oaks, Calif.: Corwin Press, 2002. (LB1027 .J545 2002)

Perspectives on Learning Disabilities: Biological, Cognitive, Contextual. Boulder, Colo.: Westview Press, 1999. (LC4704 .P476 1999)

Religious and Ethical Aspects

Cherry, Conrad. Religion on Campus. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 2001. (BL625.9.C64 C44 2001)

Hughes, Richard T. How Christian Faith Can Sustain the Life of the Mind. Grand Rapids, Mich.: W.B. Eerdmans, 2001. (LC383 .H84 2001)

Ritchhart, Ron. Intellectual Character: What It Is, Why It Matters, and How to Get It. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass, 2002. (LB1025.3 .R58 2002)

Sire, James W. Habits of the Mind: Intellectual Life as a Christian Calling. Downers Grove, Ill.: InterVarsity Press, 2000. (BV4598.4 .S57 2000)

Journal Articles

Gadzella, Bernadette M., et. al. "Differences Among Women Attending University on Thinking, Learning and Academic Performance." College Student Journal 35 (2001): 77. (Available: In database - Expanded Academic ASAP)

Matthews, Doris B., and John V. Hamby. "A Comparison of the Learning Styles of High School and College University Students (Educational Assessment: Local and National Changes)." The Clearing House 68 (1995): 257(5). (Available: In database - Expanded Academic ASAP)

 

back to top

 
Library Menu


 

  Lee University


© 1997 - 2009 · Privacy Statement · Campus Map · Weather in Cleveland · Weather in Charlotte
Lee University · 1120 North Ocoee Street · Cleveland, TN · 37320-3450 · 1-800-LEE-9930
Current Visitors for library.leeuniversity.edu: 25· A-Z Index · Web Requests & Standards · Send Feedback