Lee University, Cleveland TN
Lee University, Cleveland TN
Lee University - Library Header


  Gale Literary Resources
   

This guide lists starting points for locating information about careers in science For more resources, please consult the Library's homepage or consult a reference librarian for assistance (423) 614-8562.
 

Gale Literary Databases

To find literary criticism online, search the databases in this order:

1)  A good database to start with is:

Literature Resource Center - LRC  Literature Resource Center  
 Full text database.
 
Provides selected criticism articles from Gale's multi-volume criticism set.

2)  For recently published criticism, conduct a search in:

Literature Criticism Online  Literature Criticism Online
 Full-text database.
 Provides criticism articles that have been published from
              June 2007 present
in the following Gale sets:

Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism
Contemporary Literary Criticism
Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800
Nineteenth Century Literary Criticism
Poetry Criticism
Short Story Criticism
Twentieth Century Literary Criticism

3)  If you didn't find what you needed, search Literary Index to locate criticism articles published in Gale's print volumes, which are shelved in the Library:

Literary Index

Literary Index  
This is an index to print volumes shelved in the Reference Department. NO full text.
Search this Index to identify criticism articles that have been published in Gale reference books located in the Library.
After completing your search, see the call number list below.
 

4)  Additional literary criticism databases:
See the Library's Languages and Literature database listing.
 

 

back to top

 

Call Numbers for Gale Reference Books

To locate literary criticism in the following reference books, please consult the Literary Index database or the indexes in the back of the print reference books.

For instructions on citing Gale reference books, see:

How to Cite Gale Literary Criticism Articles 

(or)  How to Cite Gale Biographical Articles

 

 

Children’s Literature Review
(CLR)

Ref. PN1009 .A1 C5139  

 

Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism
(CMLC)

Ref. PN681.5 .C57  

 

Contemporary Authors
(CA)

Ref. Z1224 .C57  

 

Contemporary Authors New Revision Series
(CANR)

Ref. Z1224 .C58  

 

Contemporary Authors Permanent Series
(CAP)

Ref. Z1224 .C59  

 

Contemporary Literary Criticism
(CLC)

Ref. PN771 .C59  

 

Dictionary of Literary Biography
(DLB)
This library has volumes 1-7, 9, 18, 48, 65, 72, 83, 113, 119, 124, 186, 192, 200, and 202.

Ref. PS21 .D5185  

 

Hispanic Literature Criticism
(HLC)

Ref. PQ6039 .H5 1994  

 

Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800
(LC) 

Ref. PN86 .L53  

 

Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism
(NCLC)  

Ref. PN761 .N5  

 

Poetry Criticism
(PC)

Ref. PN1126 .P26  

 

Shakespearean Criticism  
We have vols 1-10.

Ref. PR 2965 .S53 1984  

 

Short Story Criticism  
(SSC ) 

Ref. PN3373 .S386  

 

Something About the Author 
(SATA )
We have vols 9-16.

Ref. PN451 .S6  

 

Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism 
(
TCLC )

Ref. PN771 .G27  

 

back to top

 

How to Cite Gale Literary Criticism Articles

Resource:

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. 6th ed., 2003.
(Ready Ref. LB2369.G53 2003)

Cite a Gale literary criticism article as "a previously published article reprinted in a collection."  (MLA 5.6.7), page 160.

To cite a literary criticism article, include the following information:

Author of article. "Title of Article." Journal Title volume number (year of publication): page numbers of original article. Rpt. in Title of Reference Source. Ed. Editor's Name. Vol. volume number. City of Publication: Publisher, date of publication. page numbers in reference source.

Examples:

The following examples are for articles about C. S. Lewis' works that were reprinted in volume 14 of Contemporary Literary Criticism.

Temple, Ruth Z. "Pool of Bethsaida." The Sewanee Review 47 (1939): 596-99. Rpt. in Contemporary Literary Criticism. Ed. Dedria Bryfonski and Laurie Lanzen Harris. Vol. 14. Detroit: Gale, 1980. 321-22.

Timmerman, John H. "The Epistemology of C. S. Lewis: Reason and Belief in Till We Have Faces." Religion in Life 46 (1977): 497-508. Rpt. in Contemporary Literary Criticism. Ed. Dedria Bryfonski and Laurie Lanzen Harris. Vol. 14. Detroit: Gale, 1980. 324-25.

 

back to top

 

How to Cite Gale Biographical Articles

Resource:

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. 6th ed., 2003.
(Ready Ref. LB2369.G53 2003)

Cite a Gale biographical article as "A Work in an Anthology." (MLA 5.6.7), pages 158-59.

To cite a biographical article, include the following information:

Author of article. "Title of Article." Title of Reference Source. Ed. Editor's Name. Vol. volume number. City of Publication: Publisher, date of publication. page numbers in reference source.

Example:

Wiloch, Thomas. "Reagan, Ronald (Wilson) 1911-." Contemporary Authors: New Revision Series. Ed. Pamela S. Dear. Vol. 47. Detroit: Gale, 1995. 352-56.

 

back to top

 

How to Cite Gale Literary Databases

Resource:

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. 6th ed., 2003.
(Ready Ref. LB2369.G53 2003)

Cite a Gale literary criticism or biographical article as "A Work from a Library or Subscription Service." (MLA 5.9.7), page 229.

How to Cite Databases:

To cite a Gale database, include:

Publication information about the article (listed at the top or the bottom of the computer screen). Information about the database that contains the article.

To cite articles originally from a reference work, break it down like this:

Author of article (if available). "Title of Article." Title of Reference Source. date of publication. Database Name. Database Publisher. date you accessed the database <main URL for the database>. 

To cite articles originally from a journal, break it down like this:

Author of article (if available). "Title of Article." Journal Title month and year of publication: page numbers of article. Database Name. Database Publisher. date you accessed the database <main URL for the database>. 

Examples:

"C. S. Lewis." Contemporary Literary Criticism. 2004. Literature Resource Center. Gale Group Databases. 12 Jan. 2004 <http://www.galenet.galegroup.com>. 

"C. S. Lewis." Dictionary of Literary Biography, Volume 15: British Novelists, 1930-1959. Ed. Bernard Oldsey. West Chester: University of Pennsylvania. The Gale Group, 1983.  Literature Resource Center. Gale Group Databases. 14 Jan. 2004 <http://www.galenet.galegroup.com>. 

Packer, J. I. "Still Surprised by Lewis." Christianity Today  Sept. 1998: 54, 56-60. Literature Resource Center. Gale Group Databases. 10 Jan. 2004 <http://www.galenet.galegroup.com>. 

 

back to top

 

aah_updated 2/20/08

William G. Squires Library

http://library.leeuniversity.edu (423) 614-8550

260 11th Street NE, Cleveland, TN 37311

Serving Lee University and the Church of God Theological Seminary

 
Library Menu


 

  Lee University


© 1997 - 2009 · Privacy Statement · Campus Map · Weather in Cleveland · Weather in Charlotte
Lee University · 1120 North Ocoee Street · Cleveland, TN · 37320-3450 · 1-800-LEE-9930
Current Visitors for library.leeuniversity.edu: 27· A-Z Index · Web Requests & Standards · Send Feedback