Lee University, Cleveland TN
Lee University, Cleveland TN
Lee University - Library Header


 How do I find journal or magazine articles?

   

For more information about locating journal and magazine articles, please consult a reference librarian for assistance (423) 614-8562.

How to select a database.

1.  On campus. Login into your student account (or) checkout a guest pass from the Circulation Desk.

Off campus. Go to step #2.

2.  Go to Library’s homepage <http://library.leeuniversity.edu>

3.  Click "Databases" link, then a subject area.

4.  Click a database.

5.  On campus. Begin search.

Off campus. Login. (Off-campus database use is limited to faculty, staff, and students. To login, enter this semester's database username and password.)

Login Problems:
For solutions to
problems opening a database, see How to Access Databases or contact the Reference Desk at (423) 614-8562.
 

 

back to top

 

How to search a database.  

Enter search terms (keywords, descriptors, author, or title).
Note: Some databases offer an online thesaurus, general index, or Scripture index for identifying appropriate terms.

For assistance with search strategy:
Contact the Reference Desk at (423) 614-8562.
 

 

back to top

 

How to retrieve online, full text articles.  

1.  After conducting your search, click the full-text article link.

Some databases allow you to select several articles for retrieval or saving.

2.  Print, save, or email articles.

To Print:

Lee University and Seminary Students:
Print from your student account as you do in campus computer labs.

Guests:
Prepay printing costs at Help Desk on the Lower Level of the library. 
Cost: $.05 per page

Location of printers:
Reference area
on wall next to computers
Downstairs
by Lee University Computer Help Desk

To Purchase Cisks:

Purchase at the Circulation Desk $1.00 each

3.  If full text is not available in the database you are using, consult additional databases:

a.   From the Library's homepage click on "E-Journal Titles" (in left column).

b.   Enter the title of the journal you need.

c.   Click on one of the databases listed for the journal you need.
(If you are off campus, at this point enter this semester's database username/password.)

d.   Browse for the particular journal issue you need, or search by article title.

e.    If for some reason, you are not able to access a database listed on the "E-Journal Titles" page:

Go to the Library's homepage.

Click on Databases.

Scroll to the bottom of the screen.

Click on the first letter of the database that you want to access.

Click the database title.
(If you are off campus, at this point enter this semester's database username/password.)

Search for the journal or magazine article you need.

 

 

back to top

 

How to find articles not available online.

For articles not available online, identify location of journals in the Library:

1.  Note date and volume number.
From the database you just searched, note the date, volume number, and page numbers for the journal
you wish to located.

2.  Click "Check library catalog for holdings"
From the database you are using, click the link to search automatically search the Library's online catalog.
(or)
Open a new Internet window, and go to the
Library’s online catalog:
Enter the journal title in the search box, (caution: not the article title).
Click "Journal Title Search."
Click "Search" button.
Scroll the display to identify all the issues and formats for this journal in Squires Library.

3.  Go to the Periodicals/Microforms area (on main level of Library).
Once you have used the online catalog to identify the location, go to the shelves or cabinets containing the journal format that you need:

Current issues – Current print issues of magazines and journals.
Shelved alphabetically in the Periodicals/Microforms area.
The most recent issue is face-out. Lift up shelf for back issues.

Bound issues –  Print journals that have been bound together in book form.
Most bound issues
are shelved alphabetically beside the Circulation counter.
Look for the Bound Periodicals sign overhead.

 Microfilm or Microfiche Microfilm contains copies of pages on reels of film. Microfiche contains copies of pages on individual film cards.
Both formats are filed alphabetically in cabinets in the back corner of the Periodicals/Microforms area. You may make copies on microfilm and microfiche readers ($.10 per page). The Circulation desk can make change to dimes until 15 minutes prior to library closing.

 
 

back to top

 

How to request an Interlibrary Loan.

If the Library does not have the needed journal or magazine article online or in the Library building, you may request the article through Interlibrary Services.

For more information about interlibrary loans, see the Library’s Interlibrary Loans guide.
 

 

back to top

 

aah.nl_updated 2/17/09

William G. Squires Library

http://library.leeuniversity.edu (423) 614-8550

260 11th Street NE, Cleveland, TN 37311

Serving Lee University and the Church of God Theological Seminary

 
Library Menu


 

  Lee University


© 1997 - 2009 · Privacy Statement · Campus Map · Weather in Cleveland · Weather in Charlotte
Lee University · 1120 North Ocoee Street · Cleveland, TN · 37320-3450 · 1-800-LEE-9930
Current Visitors for library.leeuniversity.edu: 17· A-Z Index · Web Requests & Standards · Send Feedback