Lee University, Cleveland TN
Lee University, Cleveland TN
Lee University - Library Header


How to Access Databases
 

Accessing Databases:

Access Databases On Campus

Access Databases Off Campus

Database Problems:

Problems Logging on to a Database

Problems Retrieving Full-Text Articles

 

List of Library Databases

Database Trials  

Proxy Server Outage Page 
This outage page is for accessing databases on campus in the event that the database computer server is down.

 

See also:

 

 

Printing in the Library   Ø exit this page

About Squires Library  Ø exit this page

 

How do I use NetLibrary eBooks? 
Ø
exit this page

 

   

How to Access Databases

This guide gives information about logging on to Squires Library subscription databases. For questions regarding any of these services or for assistance in locating information, call the Reference Desk (423) 614-8562
 

Access Databases On Campus

To access the Libraries' databases on campus:

  1. Go to the Library's homepage http://library.leeuniversity.edu.

  2. Click "Databases."

  3. Click on a subject area, or scroll to the bottom of the screen and consult the alphabetical listings for your database title.

 

back to top

 

Search Databases Off-Campus

To access the Libraries' databases off campus:

  1. Go to the Library's homepage http://library.leeuniversity.edu.

  2. Click "Databases."

  3. A proxy server login screen will appear.

  4. Enter this semester's database username and password in lowercase letter.

If you need assistance, consult a reference librarian during Library hours (423) 614-8562 or library@leeuniversity.edu.

 

 

back to top

 

Problems Logging on to a Database

If you are having problems accessing the database, please check the following:

  1. Did a "PROXY SERVER" screen prompt you for a username and password?

    If yes:
    - Make sure that the username/password you entered is the current semester's password.
    - Check to see if you entered the username/password in lowercase.
    - If you cannot get the username/password you have to work, please notify the Library of the problem: ( (423) 614-8562 / library@leeuniversity.edu.

  2. If no "PROXY SERVER" login screen appeared, did it send you directly to the DATABASE PROVIDER'S WEBSITE and ask you for a username and password?

    If yes:
    Please notify the Library of the problem: (423) 614-8562 / library@leeuniversity.edu

  3. If no "PROXY SERVER" login screen appeared, did it give you a message indicating that it cannot access the page?

    If yes:
    First, please notify the Library of the problem: ( (423) 614-8562 / library@leeuniversity.edu

    Then:
    If on campus, you may be able to access the database from the Library's Proxy Server Outage Page <http://library.leeuniversity.edu/get/outage.asp>.

    If off campus, you will not be able to access the Library's databases until the problem is resolved.
    Exception: NetLibrary (if you have already set up your own free personal account)

 

back to top

 

Problems Retrieving Full-Text Articles

  1. Does the database that you are using provide full text?
    Not all database provide full text.
    Some databases provide citations for resources that may found in the Library by searching the Online Catalog, search the E-Journal Titles list, or requesting the item through Interlibrary Services.

  2. Is the item you want available in full text from the database you are using?
    Many of the Library's journal databases provide only a portion of their articles in full text.  If full text is available, there should be a link to the full text article.
    If full text is not available in the database you are using, search for your journal or book title (not the article title) in the Library's Online Catalog, the E-Journal Titles list, or request the item through Interlibrary Services.

  3. Is your computer security software blocking your access to full text articles?
    We recommend contacting the University Help Desk for their assistance before making adjustments to your security software (423) 614-8027.
    WARNING: Before you make any adjustments to your security software, make sure that you are not in a situation where your computer will be vulnerable, such as an Internet café. After you have accessed the articles(s) you want, return your security software to it's normal settings.

 
 
 

aah_updated 2/19/08

William G. Squires Library

http://library.leeuniversity.edu (423) 614-8550

260 11th Street NE, Cleveland, TN 37311

Serving Lee University and the Church of God Theological Seminary

Library Menu


 

  Lee University


© 1997 - 2008 · Privacy Statement · Campus Map · Weather in Cleveland · Weather in Charlotte
Lee University · 1120 North Ocoee Street · Cleveland, TN · 37320-3450 · 1-800-LEE-9930
Current Visitors for library.leeuniversity.edu: 4· A-Z Index · Web Requests & Standards · Send Feedback