Lee University, Cleveland TN
Lee University, Cleveland TN
Lee University - Library Header


Library Services for Faculty
   

Library Services for Faculty

This guide gives information about special library services for faculty members. For questions regarding any of these services or for assistance in locating information, call the Reference Desk (423) 614-8562.

  Pdf Version
 

Library Mission

The William G. Squires Library is a vital and dynamic facet of the educational experience at Lee University and the Church of God Theological Seminary. The Library is dedicated to the active dissemination of information through service, teaching, research, and learning.

 

back to top

 

Interlibrary Services

Faculty, staff, and students may obtain materials not owned by this Library via Interlibrary Services. When you request an interlibrary loan, Squires Library will attempt to borrow an item or obtain a photocopy of the needed material from another library.

Articles are frequently provided via email and may arrive in a few days. Since books are transported via U.S. mail, the average turnaround time for them is 2 weeks.

To request an interlibrary loan, please complete a book or article form. The forms are located at the Reference Desk, or you may request that they be sent to you in campus mail by calling (423) 614-8559.

For more information about Interlibrary Services, see the Library's Interlibrary Services guide.

 

back to top

 

Library Instruction Classes

The Library offers information and library research instruction classes upon faculty members' request.

Teaching faculty may schedule for a librarian to provide special instruction for their classes in their classroom or in the Library. This instruction may include a library tour, evaluation of web sources, how to search online databases, and other research strategies. Most library instruction sessions are taught in The LINK (an instruction classroom equipped with 30 computers). Students enjoy this interactive and exciting means of learning how to use library resources.

Would you like to schedule library instruction for your students?  Simply follow this link and complete the form below the calendar, or call (423) 614-8560.  Louis Morgan, Librarian for Instructional Services, will confirm your request and other specifics via email. 

You may check the Library Instruction Calendar to determine available times for class sessions. 

 

back to top

 

Reference Assistance

The Library would like to assist faculty, staff, and students in locating the information they need. Reference services are available in-person or via phone all hours the Library is open. To discuss your own personal research needs or those of your students, please feel free to stop by the Reference Department, to call the Reference Department and request an appointment (423) 614-8562, or to contact the designated librarian liaison for your academic department.

 

back to top

 

Reserve Services

Faculty may place high-demand items on reserve at the Circulation Counter for students' use.

Reserve materials may include:

  • Library books, videos, or other materials, adhering to copyright laws

  • Personal copies of books or videos

  • Scanned articles to be accessed as an E-Reserves from the Library's online catalog.

To place items on reserve for your class(es):

  1. Please bring to the Library's Circulation Counter the items you wish to make available to students.

  2. Complete a Faculty Class Reserve Material Request form, and indicate whether you would like the items to be placed on 2-hour or 3-day reserve.
    Please allow 3 to 7 days for processing of 2- or 3-hour reserve items.

  3. For electronic reserves, attach to the Faculty Class Reserve Materials Request form a copy of the article(s) to be made available.
    Please allow 7 days for processing of E-Reserve items.
    For more information about E-Reserves, contact Frank Shroyer fshroyer@leeuniversity.edu (423) 614-8552.

To check out reserve items from the Library:

You and your students may view a list of the items you have placed on regular reserve:

  1. Go to the library's online catalog.

  2. Click on the COURSE RESERVE button at the top of the screen and follow the instructions.

  3. Using the pull-down menus, click on your name or the course number.

  4. At this point, your students would note the call number for the item(s) they wish to check out from the Circulation Counter.
    E-Reserves may be accessed online directly from the online catalog.

 

back to top

 

Subject Guides

Library subject guides provide information to assist you and your students in locating resources and using library services, including:

  • Links to Internet resources

  • Tips on searching the online catalog for particular topics

  • Database suggestions

  • Lists of selected E-books and print books about particular topics

  • Information about library services

  • Answers to frequently asked questions

All subject guides are available online, and selected guides are available in-print in the guide rack near the Reference Desk.

If you would like for the Library to compile a guide in a particular discipline for your students, please contact the Reference Department at (423) 614-8562.

 

back to top

 

Circulation Services

Faculty members may check out books for one semester. Books are due the last day of final exams.

You may use your faculty I.D. to check out books from any campus library (Squires Library, Music Resource Center, and Sharp Curriculum Library), as well as the Cleveland Public Library. Each library has its own established circulation policies and return dates.

To review your account online:
1. G
o to the library's online catalog.
2.
Click on the
PATRON button at the top of the screen, and follow the instructions.

For more information about Circulation Services see the Library's guide to Borrowing Library Materials or call (423) 614-8551.

 

back to top

 

Collection Development

The Library seeks to support academic coursework by purchasing and providing access to a balanced collection of academic materials and online resources. In order to accomplish this goal, library faculty work closely with teaching faculty. Each academic department or school has a designated liaison who communicates regularly with a librarian liaison regarding book requests and other information resources. 

Individual teaching faculty generally go through their departmental liaison to request materials, but are welcome anytime to contact their department's designated librarian liaison or any other librarian to discuss information needs.

Visit the Collection Development page to view the Library's policy for selecting and ordering library materials. For a current list of the collection development librarian liaisons, see the Library Services Directory.

 

back to top

 

Conference Room

The Library has a conference room that is available by reservation for faculty meetings. The conference room houses a conference table with chairs and a computer with a projection screen.

To reserve the conference room, contact Lydia Murch at (423) 614-8569.

 

back to top

 

Faculty Study Room

The library provides a study room for teaching faculty who desire a solitary place in which to work. The room is available on a first-come basis. For more information about the room see the Faculty Study Room guide.

 

back to top

 

New Faculty Orientation

Each year the Library provides one-on-one orientation for new faculty members. New faculty meet with their department's (or school's) librarian liaison for the following:

  • A Tour of the Library

  • Discussion of services for faculty and students

  • An Opportunity to ask questions and to discuss information needs

  • A Lunch meeting to become acquainted with the librarian who will be working closely with the academic department

 

back to top

 

aah_updated 11/01/07

William G. Squires Library

http://library.leeuniversity.edu (423) 614-8550

260 11th Street NE, Cleveland, TN 37311

Serving Lee University and the Church of God Theological Seminary

Library Menu


 

  Lee University


© 1997 - 2008 · Privacy Statement · Campus Map · Weather in Cleveland · Weather in Charlotte
Lee University · 1120 North Ocoee Street · Cleveland, TN · 37320-3450 · 1-800-LEE-9930
Current Visitors for library.leeuniversity.edu: 43· A-Z Index · Web Requests & Standards · Send Feedback