Lee University, Cleveland TN
Lee University, Cleveland TN
Lee University - Library Header


Music and Performing Arts - Instrumental Music
   

This guide lists starting points for locating information on Instrumental Music. For more resources, please consult the Library's homepage or consult a reference librarian for assistance (423) 614-8562.
 

Databases

Classical Music Library <http://library.leeuniversity.edu/eresources>
Classical Music Library, a music encyclopedia-type resource, offers biographies, images of composers and musicians, a music glossary, and sound files. Sound files may be accessed by keyword, work/track title, work/opus number, key, composer, artist, conductor, ensemble, instrument, genre, period, or label.

Grove Music  <http://library.leeuniversity.edu/eresources>
Grove Music, a music encyclopedia resource, provides information on instruments, instrumental performance, and links to related sites on the Web. It includes the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz.

Microsoft Musical Instruments: An Interactive Journey into the World of Musical Instruments (CD-ROM)
Circulation Desk - Media ML460 .M52 1992 CD-ROM
An interactive program that deals with musical instruments, both ancient and modern, from around the world. Includes articles, sound samples, and photographs of musical instruments and ensembles.

RILM Abstracts of Musical Literature <http://library.leeuniversity.edu/eresources>
Index to scholarly information about the field of music from over 500 international journals.

 

back to top

 

Links

General

Grove Music
<http://library.leeuniversity.edu/eresources>
Squires Library database. Provides links to related sites on the Web.

Instrument Collections 
<http://www.lib.duke.edu/dw3/SPT--BrowseResources.php?ParentId=730>

Links to musical instrument museum collections. Compiled by Duke University.

Instruments 
<http://www.music.indiana.edu/music_resources/instr.html>
Links to websites with information on the following types of instruments: accordions, bagpipes, brass, electronic instruments, guitar and lute, handbells, harmonica, harp, hurdy gurdy, keyboard and dulcimer, lute/mandolin, percussion, period instruments, strings, and woodwinds. Compiled by Indiana University.

Performance Sites
<http://www.music.indiana.edu/music_resources/performg.html>
Links to competitions, concert schedules, festivals, geographical listings, instruments, music awards, musician's union, and reviews. Compiled by Indiana University.

 

back to top

 

Links

Genres

Church Music  <http://library.leeuniversity.edu/guides/music/church_music/tableofcontents.htm>

Grove Music 
<http://library.leeuniversity.edu/eresources>
Squires Library database. Provides links to related sites on the Web.

Indiana University (Worldwide Internet Music Resources):

Bands, Marching Bands, and Wind Ensembles <http://www.music.indiana.edu/music_resources/marching.html>

Chamber Music <http://www.music.indiana.edu/music_resources/chamber.html#music>

Electronic Music
<http://www.music.indiana.edu/music_resources/electr.html>
 

Jazz
http://www.music.indiana.edu/music_resources/jazz.html>

Orchestras 
<http://www.music.indiana.edu/music_resources/orchestr.html>

Other Genres and Types of Music  <http://www.music.indiana.edu/music_resources/genres.html>

 

back to top

 

Selected Reference Books

General

  • Encyclopedia of Keyboard Instruments
    (Garland, 1994)
    Ref. ML102.K5 E53 1994

  • Encyclopedia of Percussion
    (Garland, 1995) 
    Ref. ML102.P4 E5 1995

  • The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
    (Garland, 1998)
    Ref. ML100 .G16 1997 

  • Musical Instruments : A Comprehensive Dictionary
    (Norton, 1975) 
    Ref. ML102.I5 M37 1975

  • Musical Instruments of the World : An Illustrated Encyclopedia
    (Paddington Press, 1976)
    Ref. ML102.I5 D5 

  • New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
    (Grove, 2001)
    Ref ML100 .N48 2001

  • New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments
    (Grove's Dictionaries of Music, 1984) 
    Ref. ML102.I5 N48

 

back to top

 

Selected Reference Books

Genres

13th - 18th Century Music

  • Anthology of Instrumental Music from the End of the Sixteenth to the End of the Seventeenth Century
    ( Da Capo Press, 1974)
    Ref. M2 .A57 1974
     

  • An Early Music Dictionary: Musical Terms from British Sources, 1500-1740
    (Cambridge University Press, 1995)
    Ref. ML108 .S88 1995
     

  • Instrumental Music of the 13th Century
     University Music Editions, 1989)
    Music Resource Center - Media Ref. ML120.U5 C34 1989

Chamber Music

  • Chamber Music: A Research and Information Guide
    (Routledge, 2002)
    Ref. ML128 .C4 B37 2002
     

  • Conductor's Repertory of Chamber Music : Compositions for Nine to Fifteen Solo Instruments
    ( Greenwood Press, 1993)
    Ref. ML 128 .C4 S37 1993
     

  • International Encyclopedia of Violin-Keyboard Sonatas
    (Arriaga Publications, 1995)
    Ref. ML102 .V45 P4 1995
     

  • The Literature of Chamber Music
    (Hindshaw Music, 1997)
    Ref. ML1100 .C63 1997

Church Music

See the Library's guide to Church Music. <http://library.leeuniversity.edu/guides/music/church_music/tableofcontents.htm>.

Contemporary Music

  • Big Band Almanac
    (Da Capo Press, 1989, c1978)
    Ref. ML102.B5 W34 1989
     

  • Encyclopedia of Popular Music
    (Muze, 1998)
    Ref. ML102 .P66 G84 1998
     

  • New Grove Dictionary of Jazz
    (Grove, 2002)
    Ref. ML102 .S3 N48 2002

Orchestral Music

  • American Orchestral Music: A Performance Catalog
    (Scarecrow Press, 1992)
    Ref. ML128.O5 K67 1992
     

  • Orchestral Music: A Handbook
    (Scarecrow Press, 1996)
    Ref. ML128.O49 D3 1996

 

back to top

 
Library Menu


 

  Lee University


© 1997 - 2009 · Privacy Statement · Campus Map · Weather in Cleveland · Weather in Charlotte
Lee University · 1120 North Ocoee Street · Cleveland, TN · 37320-3450 · 1-800-LEE-9930
Current Visitors for library.leeuniversity.edu: 28· A-Z Index · Web Requests & Standards · Send Feedback