Lee University, Cleveland TN
Lee University, Cleveland TN
Lee University - Library Header


 How Do I Use NetLibrary eBooks?  under construction
   

How do I use NetLibrary eBooks?

For more information, please consult the Library's homepage or consult a reference librarian for assistance (423) 614-8562.

What are NetLibrary eBooks?

•   EBooks are electronic versions of print books that can be viewed online on any PC. 

•   NetLibrary is an online service that provides access to a huge collection of our Library's eBooks.

 

back to top

 

How do I access eBooks?

NetLibrary eBooks may be accessed several ways:

Access NetLibrary from the Library's homepage:

1.  Go to the home page, and click on the EBook Collections link in the left column.

2.  Click the NetLibrary icon.

3.  If you are off-campus, it will ask you for a username and password. If you are a faculty member or student and you do not know the username and password, contact the Reference Desk at (423) 614-8562.

Access NetLibrary from the online catalog:

1.  Search for by topic or a particular title.

2.  From the item's record, click the Read It Now link.

3.  If you are off-campus, it will ask you for a username and password. If you are a faculty member or student and you do not know the username and password, contact the Reference Desk at (423) 614-8562.

**  If you are unable to access NetLibrary from the online catalog, try accessing it from the Library's homepage.

Access NetLibrary directly from NetLibrary's website:

To access NetLibrary directly from their site, you must first set up your own personal free account by going through the Library's homepage..

1.  Access NetLibrary through the Library's homepage using the instructions in above. ↑

2.  Set up a free NetLibrary account by clicking on Create a Free Account in the upper right corner.  Enter your information, and click the read Create Account button at the bottom of the screen. Type a username and password of your choosing–letters and/or digits that you can easily remember.

 

back to top

 

How do I search for the eBooks I need?

Once you have set up your free eBook account, you can search for eBooks in either NetLibrary or the online catalog.

To Search from NetLibrary's Website:

1.  Access NetLibrary following the Instructions under How do I Access eBooks? above.

3.  Once you are into NetLibrary, click the search method you wish to use (keyword, title, author, or full text). 

4.  Enter your search term(s), and click the Search button.

5.  Browse the titles, and identify the Ebook you would like to read.

To Search Using the Online Catalog:

To Search for print books and eBooks at the same time:

1.  Go to the Library's online catalog

2.  Use the Basic Search or the Advanced Search.

3.  Enter your search terms, and click the Search button.

4.  Browse the titles. Both print books and eBooks will be listed.

Please note: You may access only the eBooks of the library with which you have set up a NetLibrary eBook account with that library.

To limit your search to only eBooks:

1.  Go to the Library's online catalog

2.  Click the Advanced Search tab. 

3.  In the lower right corner, click the orange Set Limits button.

4.  In the Medium: box, click Computer File.  

5.  Click the Set Limits button at the bottom of the page. 

6.  Enter your search terms, and click the Search button.

 

back to top

 

How do I check out an eBook?

After you have identified an eBook you want to read, you may view the book, by clicking on the View this eBook link.
If you have set up an account, you may also take notes online and make reading lists.

If you see the message: "This eBook is not included in your library's collection and is unavailable for viewing," you may not be logged in (or) it may be one of the Public Library's eBooks.
If you are not logged in:
- Click on
Log In in the upper right corner of the screen and log in.
- Search for, and identify the eBook you want to read.

 

back to top

 

How do I read an eBook using NetLibrary?

After you have checked out the eBook you want to read, access the various parts of the book by doing the following:

1.  From the Table of Contents on the left side of the screen, click the chapter you wish to read.

2.  The text will appear on the right side of the screen. 

3.  Manipulate the page display and move through the book using the navigation tools at the top of the screen. If you want skip to a particular page number, type the page number, and click Go.

 

back to top

 

How do I Check In an eBook?

When you have finished using an eBook, you may close or check in the book.

If you are viewing the eBook:

1.  Click Close Item in upper left corner of screen.

2.  You will then see eBook's main record displayed.

If you are on the search screen, click the My Checked Out Items like in the upper right corner of the screen.

 

back to top

 

How do I print, copy, or email text?

Print

You may print or copy one page at a time using your browser's print or copy functions, clicking the printer icon just above the eBook text, or right clicking the mouse.

Please note: Although you can print parts of an eBook, printing an entire eBook violates copyright laws. Precautions are taken to protect copyright laws; if a suspicious usage pattern indicative of excessive printing or copying is detected the activity is logged and the user is sent a copyright warning.

Copy / Email

You may  copy selected text using your browser's print or copy functions.

1.  Highlight and copy the desired text.

2.  Paste it into your paper or an email you wish to send.

 

back to top

 

What other special study helps are there?

●  Create an online list of eBooks.

Using either of the following methods, you may create an online list of eBooks so that you may come back to them later or compile a bibliography for your paper.

If you are on the Search Results screen:

1.  Conduct a search for eBooks.

2.  Click Add to My List.

If you are viewing an eBook:

While you are reading the book, if at some point you want to add it to your list:
Click the "
eBook Details" tab, then click the "Add to My List" link.

●  Search for words or phrases in the text.

You may search for particular words or phrases in the text of a book using either of the following methods:

If you are on the Basic Search or Advanced Search screens:

1.  Type your keyword(s).

2.  Click Full Text.

3.  Click the Search button.

If you are viewing an eBook:

1.  Type your keyword(s) in the "Search this eBook" box at the bottom left corner of the screen.

2.  Click "Search" button.

Please note: After you have searched, your search terms will be automatically be highlighted in the text of the eBook unless you are viewing a .pdf file.

●  Take notes online.

You may take notes online. When you do, NetLibrary automatically creates a bookmark for the page you are reading. You may later edit your notes or copy them into your paper. You may also use your notes to return to a specific page.

To take notes:

1.  Click on the "Notes" tab.

2.  Type up to 500 characters of notes for the page where you are reading.

3.  Click "Save Changes."

To edit your notes or go to particular page using your notes as a bookmark:

1.  Click on the "Notes" tab.

2.  Click the "Edit" or "Go to Page" link.

 Look up terms in an online dictionary.

You may check the meanings and pronunciation of terms in an English dictionary or thesaurus, or an English/Spanish dictionary, using either of the following methods:

To use the mouse to search a term in the Dictionary:

1.  While you are reading an eBook, using the left mouse button, double-click on a term.

2.  Click on "Look up term in the Dictionary."
NetLibrary will automatically search your term in
The American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language, Fourth Edition.

To type and search a word in the Dictionary, Thesaurus, or English/Spanish dictionary:

1.  Click on the "Dictionary" tab.

2.  Type the term in the "Look up:" box.

3.  Usng the pulldown menu, click: "Dictionary, 4th Ed.," "Roget's Thesaurus," "English to Spanish," or "Spanish to English."

 

back to top

 

aah_updated 4/8/09

William G. Squires Library

http://library.leeuniversity.edu  (423) 614-8550

260 11th Street NE, Cleveland, TN 37311

Serving Lee University and the Church of God Theological Seminary

 
Library Menu


 

  Lee University


© 1997 - 2009 · Privacy Statement · Campus Map · Weather in Cleveland · Weather in Charlotte
Lee University · 1120 North Ocoee Street · Cleveland, TN · 37320-3450 · 1-800-LEE-9930
Current Visitors for library.leeuniversity.edu: 24· A-Z Index · Web Requests & Standards · Send Feedback