Lee University, Cleveland TN
Lee University, Cleveland TN
Lee University - Library Header


 News and Weather

 

 

News & Weather

This guide lists starting points for locating information on news resources. For more resources, please consult the Library's homepage or consult a reference librarian for assistance
(423) 614-8562.
 

2 General News Resources

Websites 

NewsLink
U.S. and Canadian newspapers.

OnlineNewspapers.com  
U.S. and international newspapers.

U.S. Newspaper List

Yahoo! News and Media  
Links to newspapers, magazines, radio, and television news sites.

C-SPAN
Capitol Hill, The White House and National Politics

White House Presidential News and Speeches

Databases

America's Newspapers (NewsBank)   FULL TEXT
A database of the complete electronic editions of more than 750 U.S. newspapers, including major newspapers such as The New York Times, The Washington Post, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution and regional newspapers such as The Knoxville News-Sentinel and The Tennessean.
Paid advertisements are excluded.

America's News Magazines (NewsBank)   FULL TEXT
Provides full-text articles from various familiar magazines, such as Newsweek, Time, U.S. News & World Report, Fortune, and Foreign Affairs. Coverage includes news, business, entertainment, lifestyle, science and technology, and sports. Paid advertisements are excluded.

Custom Newspapers (InfoTrac)  FULL TEXT
A collection of more than 650 national and international newspapers. Includes the Chattanooga Times/Free Press.

Newspapers & News Magazines

America's Newspapers (NewsBank  Online)
A library database of the complete electronic editions of more than 750 U.S. newspapers, including major newspapers such as The New York Times, The Washington Post, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution and regional newspapers such as The Knoxville News-Sentinel and The Tennessean.
Paid advertisements are excluded.

America's News Magazines (NewsBank  Online)
A library database that provides full-text articles from various familiar magazines, such as Newsweek, Time, U.S. News & World Report, Fortune, and Foreign Affairs. Coverage includes news, business, entertainment, lifestyle, science and technology, and sports. Paid advertisements are excluded.

The Atlanta Journal–Constitution
Current and previous month – print
1985-current in America's Newspapers (NewsBank)

Chattanooga Times Free Press
Current and previous month
print

Cleveland Daily Banner  
Squires Library – current and previous month - print
Cleveland P
ublic Library – main library: several years - print / history branch: all back

The Christian Science Monitor 
Current and previous month – print
1987-current in America's Newspapers (NewsBank)
1995-current in Academic Search Complete
1997-current in General Reference Center Gold

The Chronicle of Higher Education 
Current issues – print
1989-current – Library's online subscription
1978-1992 – microfilm,  1992-present – microfiche

Conservative Chronicle 
Current and previous month – print

Custom Newspapers (InfoTrac)  FULL TEXT
A collection of more than 650 national and international newspapers. Includes the Chattanooga Times/Free Press.

Lee Clarion (formerly Lee Collegian)
Current issues print in Serials Dept., Squires Library
Current and back issues
print in Dixon Pentecostal Research Center
2001-present Lee University website

Liberal Opinion Week 
Current and previous month – print

The New York Times 
2000-current in America's Newspapers (NewsBank)
Squires Library:  1974-1988 – microfilm
Cleveland Public Library:  1 week, Sunday only – print  

Cleveland State Library:  Current issues – print,  1851-present – microfilm

Newsweek 
Current issues – print
1940-1973 – bound,  1974-1985 – microfilm,  1985-present microfiche
1991-current in America's Newspapers (NewsBank)

Time 
Current issues - print
1993-current in America's Newspapers (NewsBank)
1940-1973 – bound,  1974-1985 – microfilm,  1985-present – microfiche

U.S. News & World Report 
Current issues – print
1993-current in America's Newspapers (NewsBank)
1983-present (selected articles) in General Business File ASAP

1949-1975 – bound,  1974-1985 – microfilm,  1985-present – microfiche

USA Today 
Current and previous month – print
1993-present (selected articles) in Expanded Academic ASAP
1993-present (selected articles) in General Reference Center Gold

Wall Street Journal 
Current and previous month – print
1987 – microfilm
2004 – current (abstracts only) in America's Newspapers (NewsBank)

The Washington Post 
Current and previous month – print
1977– current in America's Newspapers (NewsBank)

The Washington Times 
Current and previous month – print
1990 – current in America's Newspapers (NewsBank)

 

 

back to top

 

2 Local & Regional News

Cleveland/Chattanooga

Cleveland - Chattanooga Area Events

Newspapers

Bradley News Weekly
Cleveland P
ublic Library – all issues print

Chattanooga Times Free Press
Current and previous month
print
In Squires Library database
Custom Newspapers (InfoTrac)

Chattanoogan.com 

Cleveland Daily Banner  
Squires Library – current and previous month - print
Cleveland P
ublic Library – main library: several years - print / history branch: all back

Lee Clarion (formerly Lee Collegian)
Current issues print in Serials Dept., Squires Library
Current and back issues
print in Dixon Pentecostal Research Center
2001-present Lee University website

Television

WDEF (CBS) - Channel 12

WDSI (FOX) - Channel  61  

WRCB (NBC) - Channel  3 

WTVC (ABC) - Channel  9  

Southeast Region

For print copies of regional newspapers, check: Cleveland Public Library, Cleveland State Community College Library, or The Tennessee Newspaper Project, a database of information regarding American newspaper holdings in the state of Tennessee.

Tennessee

OnlineNewspapers.com

America's Newspapers (NewsBank)

Custom Newspapers (InfoTrac)  FULL TEXT
A collection of more than 650 national and international newspapers. Includes the Chattanooga Times/Free Press.

Knoxville, TN.  Knoxville News-Sentinel 
1991– current in America's Newspapers (NewsBank)

Nashville, TN.  The Tennessean 
1999 – current in America's Newspapers (NewsBank)

Georgia

OnlineNewspapers.com

America's Newspapers (Newsbank)

The Atlanta Journal–Constitution  
Current and previous month – print
1985-current in America's Newspapers (NewsBank)

Dalton, GA.  Daily Citizen  

Rossville, GA.  Rossville News  

Other

OnlineNewspapers.com

America's Newspapers (NewsBank)

See also Websites above.

 

 

back to top

 

þ  International News

General

OnlineNewspapers.com  
U.S. and international newspapers.

World Newspapers, Magazines, and Periodicals - Multilingual

Spanish

CNN en Español

El Nuevo Herald (Miami)
In Squires Library database: Custom Newspapers (InfoTrac) listed as "Miami Herald"

Custom Newspapers (InfoTrac)  FULL TEXT
A collection of more than 650 national and international newspapers. IIncludes:
Chile: El Mercurio de Chile / Costa Rica: La Nación de Costa Rica
Peru: El Comercio de Perú / Mexico: Mural (México D.F.); El Norte (México D.F.); Palabra (México D.F.); Reforma (México D.F.) / Puerto Rico: El Nuevo Día de Puerto Rico / U.S.: The Houston Chronicle (Houston, TX); Miami Herald (Miami, FL); La Palma (Palm Beach, FL) / Uruguay: El País de Uruguay

Tiempos del Mundo 

More Links to News in Spanish (About.com)
 

 

back to top

 

 UY  Religion News

Religion & Ethics

BBC – Religion & Ethics

PBS – Religion & Ethics NewsWeekly

Pew Forum on Religion & Public Life – Religion News

Reuters Foundation – AlertNet
Alerting humanitarians to emergencies

RNS - Religious News Service  
Secular site that reports religion and ethics news

Worldwide Faith News
Compiled by the National Council of Churches USA (NCC), Worldwide Faith News is a "database of full text official news releases and other documents, including policy statements from the news office of national and world faith groups."

General Christian

CBN (Christian Broadcast Network)
Evangelical news

Christian Headlines
This site lists headlines and links to Christian News sites, as well as selected articles on secular news sites. 

The Christian Post
An online Christian newspaper covering U.S. and World news from a conservative Christian perspective

Christian Today 
International news service of Christian Today Limited, London

Christianity Today  
Evangelical magazine

Crosswalk.com - Religion Today
Evangelical Christian news site

Ekklesia (UK)
"
Ekklesia is an independent, not-for-profit think-tank which examines the role of religion in public life and advocates transformative theological ideas and solutions."

Mission Network News
"Mission Network News is a mission news service dedicated to keeping Christians informed on evangelical mission activity around the world."

National Association of Evangelicals
News about the NAE

National Council of Churches USA
News about the Council as well as links to NCC News Headlines and Worldwide Faith News.

OneNewsNow.com
By the American Family News Network. Formerly AgapePress.org.
OneNewsNow is a conservative Christian news service.

Pneuma Foundation
Charismatic news

Christian Denominations

General

Christian Headlines  

Net Ministries Denominations Directory 

Yahoo: Christian Denominations and Sects

Pentecostal/Charismatic

Assemblies of God News

Church of God (Cleveland, TN) Official Website

Pentecostal Charismatic Churches of North America (PCCNA)

Pentecostal/Charismatic Denominations and Fellowships (Pneuma Foundation)
 

 

back to top

 

aah_updated 6/3/09

William G. Squires Library

http://library.leeuniversity.edu (423) 614-8550

260 11th Street NE, Cleveland, TN 37311

Serving Lee University and the Church of God Theological Seminary

Library Menu


 

  Lee University


© 1997 - 2009 · Privacy Statement · Campus Map · Weather in Cleveland · Weather in Charlotte
Lee University · 1120 North Ocoee Street · Cleveland, TN · 37320-3450 · 1-800-LEE-9930
Current Visitors for library.leeuniversity.edu: 29· A-Z Index · Web Requests & Standards · Send Feedback