Lee University, Cleveland TN
Lee University, Cleveland TN
Lee University - Library Header


 APA Style

General APA Websites

How to Cite Print Resources

Bible

Books

Encyclopedias

Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers

Other Print Resources 

How to Cite Multimedia and Communication Resources

ERIC documents

Personal Interviews

Films, Videos, and DVDs

Sound Recordings

Television and Radio Programs

Works of Art

How to Cite Internet and CD-ROM Resources

CD-ROMs

E-books

Emails

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries (Online)

Illustrations, Works of Art, Maps, Photographs, and Advertisements Online

Films and Sound Recordings Online

Listservs, Newsgroups, and Web Discussions

Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers in online  Databases to which the library subscribes

Journal, magazine, or newspapers online

Web Pages

APA Style Books in the Library

   

This guide lists sites and books about APA Style. If your particular source is not listed in this guide, consult the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (BF76.7 .P83 2001) or visit APA's style website, particularly the FAQs page.

The Squires Library offers the web links as a guide only. Please refer to the actual Publication Manual or your instructor for clarifications. For more resources, consult the Library's homepage or a reference librarian for assistance (423) 614-8562.

 

General APA Websites

APA Online
By the American Psychological Association

DianaHacker.com

KnightCite Citation Maker
Use to generate citations for research papers using MLA, APA, or Chicago style.

Online!  (Bedford/St. Martin's)

Monroe Community College

Ohio State University

Seattle Central Community College

University of Wisconsin-Madison
 

 

back to top

 

How to Cite Print Resources

Bible

How to Cite the Bible
by Grove City Colleg

Books

Basic Book / Preface-Forward / Work in a Series / Republication / Anthology
KnightCite.com - Heckman Library, Calvin College
In the left column, click APA and the type of resource.

Books
DianaHacker.com - List of References

Books by One or More Authors
Monroe Community College

Books
Seattle Central Community College

General Guidelines for Listing Authors
DianaHacker.com - List of References

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia / Dictionary / Reference Work
KnightCite.com - Heckman Library, Calvin College
In the left column, click APA and the type of resource.

Article in an Encyclopedia
Monroe Community College

Reference Sources
Seattle Central Community College

Magazines, Journals, and  Newspapers

Journal Articles

Journal
KnightCite.com - Heckman Library, Calvin College
In the left column, click APA and the type of resource.

Article in a Journal Paginated by Volume
DianaHacker.com - List of References

Article in a Journal Paginated by Issue
DianaHacker.com - List of References

Periodical Articles
Seattle Central Community College

Magazine Articles

Magazine
KnightCite.com - Heckman Library, Calvin College
In the left column, click APA and the type of resource.

Article in a Magazine
DianaHacker.com - List of References

Article in a Monthly Periodical
Monroe Community College

Article in a Weekly Periodical (without an author)
Monroe Community College

Periodical Articles
Seattle Central Community College

Newspaper Articles

Newspaper
KnightCite.com - Heckman Library, Calvin College
In the left column, click APA and the type of resource.

Article in a Newspaper
DianaHacker.com - List of References

Article in a Newspaper
Monroe Community College

Periodical Articles
Seattle Central Community College

Other Print Resources

Book or Film Reviews

Review
DianaHacker.com - List of References

Review
Monroe Community College

Conference Proceedings

Conference Proceedings
DianaHacker.com - List of References

Government Documents

Government Document
DianaHacker.com - List of References

Government Publications
Seattle Central Community College

Pamphlets

Pamphlet or Brochure
Monroe Community College

 

 

back to top

 

How to Cite Internet and CD-ROM Resources

CD-ROMs

CD-ROM
Monroe Community College

Electronic Books (E-Books)

Basic Book / Preface-Forward / Work in a Series / Republication / Anthology
KnightCite.com - Heckman Library, Calvin College
In the left column, click APA and Electronic, then click the type of resource.

Book
Monroe Community College

Email Messages

Email
DianaHacker.com - List of References

Email Message
Online! By Bedford/St. Martin's

Encyclopedias and  Dictionaries Online

Many online encyclopedias provide guidance on how to cite their sources. Adapt this information to APA citation style.

Illustrations, Works of Art, Maps, Photographs, and Advertisements Online

Art / Cartoon / Advertisement / Map or Chart
KnightCite.com - Heckman Library, Calvin College
In the left column, click APA and Electronic, then click the type of resource.

Films and Sound Recordings Online

Film or Video, Radio/TV Program or Interview,  Song
KnightCite.com - Heckman Library, Calvin College
In the left column, click APA and Electronic, then click the type of resource.

Listservs, Newsgroups, and Web Discussions

Listserv Message
Online! By Bedford/St. Martin's  

Newsgroup
Online! By Bedford/St. Martin's  

Online Posting
DianaHacker.com - List of References

Real Time Communication
Online! By Bedford/St. Martin's

Telnet, FTP, and Gopher Sites
Online! By Bedford/St. Martin's

Magazines, Journals, and  Newspapers Online

Databases to Which the Library Subscribes

To site an article retrieved from one of the Library's online databases:
Cite the online article as you would a print resource, then add a retrieval statement that includes the date accessed and the database name.

General Tips

Journal / Magazine / Newspaper
KnightCite.com - Heckman Library, Calvin College
In the left column, click APA and Electronic, then click the type of resource.

Article from a Database
DianaHacker.com - List of References

Electronic Copy of a Journal Article - three to five authors, retrieved from database
APA Online

Periodical Database on the Worldwide Web
Seattle Central Community College

Specific Databases

EBSCOhost Databases:
While you are logged into  any of the following EBSCOhost databases, click on Help in the upper right corner of the screen. Scroll down to Citation Styles.

Gale InfoTrac Databases:
Expanded Academic ASAP

PsycARTICLES

Journal Articles Online

Journal
KnightCite.com - Heckman Library, Calvin College
In the left column, click APA and Electronic, then click the type of resource.

Article from an Online Periodical
DianaHacker.com - List of References

Article in a Journal
Monroe Community College

Article in an Internet-Only Journal
APA Online

Internet Articles Based on a Print Source
APA Online

Magazine Articles Online

Magazine
KnightCite.com - Heckman Library, Calvin College
In the left column, click APA and Electronic, then click the type of resource.

Article in a Magazine [electronic]
Monroe Community College

Newspaper Articles Online

Newspaper
KnightCite.com - Heckman Library, Calvin College
In the left column, click APA and Electronic, then click the type of resource.

Article from an Online Periodical
DianaHacker.com - List of References

Article in a Newspaper
Monroe Community College

Newsletter Articles Online

University of Southern Mississippi

Article in an Internet-Only Newsletter
APA Online

Web Pages

Entire Website / Website Document
KnightCite.com - Heckman Library, Calvin College
In the left column, click APA and Electronic, then click the type of resource.

Document Available on University Program or Department Web Site
APA Online

Stand-Alone Document, No Author Identified, No Date
APA Online

Non-Periodical Web Document
DianaHacker.com

Web Site
Monroe Community College

World Wide Website
Online! By Bedford/St. Martin's  

 

back to top

 

How to Cite Multimedia and Communication Resources
(other than Internet resources)

ERIC Documents

Books - ERIC Document
Seattle Central Community College

Personal Interviews

Other Media: Citing Interviews
University of Southern Mississippi

Personal Interview
Monroe Community College

Sound Recordings

Audio Recording
Monroe Community College

Seattle Central Community College

University of Southern Mississippi  Scroll to or search "Other Media."

Films, Videos or DVDs

DianaHacker.com List of References

Monroe Community College

Seattle Central Community College

University of Southern Mississippi Scroll to or search "Other Media"
Please note: According to APA Online, [Motion picture] replaces Film and Videotape as a bracketed descriptor.

Television and Radio Programs

Film
Monroe Community College

Motion Picture
DianaHacker.com - List of References

Radio or Television Program
Monroe Community College

Television Program
DianaHacker.com - List of Reference

Works of Art

Work of Art / Illustration
Monroe Community College

 

back to top

 

APA Style Books in the Library

A Guide to MLA Documentation: With an Appendix on APA StyleBy Joseph F. Trimmer. Houghton Mifflin, 1996.
§ Circulating - PN147 .T75 1996

APA--The Easy Way!By Peggy M. Houghton. Baker College, 2005.
§ Ready Reference - Ref. BF76.7 .H68 2005

Cite It Right: The SourceAid Guide to Citation, Research, and Avoiding Plagiarism. SourceAid, 2007.
§ Ref. PN171 .F56 F69 2007

How to Prepare a Research Article in APA Style.
§ Sharp Curriculum Library - MISC 994

Mastering APA Style: Student's Workbook and Training Guide.  By Harold Gelfand. American Psychological Association, 2002.
§ Circulating - BF76.8 .G452 2002

The Nuts and Bolts of College Writing.  By Michael Harvey. Hackett Pub. Co., 2003.
§ Circulating - PE1408 .H3927 2003

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 5th ed.
By Joseph Gibaldi. American Psychological Association, 2001.
§ Ref. BF76.7 .P83 2001 and Circulating - BF76.7 .P83 2001
¾ Corrections for 5th edition: http://www.apastyle.org/pubman-reprint.pdf

 

 

back to top

 

aah_updated 2/17/09

William G. Squires Library

http://library.leeuniversity.edu (423) 614-8550

260 11th Street NE, Cleveland, TN 37311

Serving Lee University and the Church of God Theological Seminary

Library Menu


 

  Lee University


© 1997 - 2009 · Privacy Statement · Campus Map · Weather in Cleveland · Weather in Charlotte
Lee University · 1120 North Ocoee Street · Cleveland, TN · 37320-3450 · 1-800-LEE-9930
Current Visitors for library.leeuniversity.edu: 5· A-Z Index · Web Requests & Standards · Send Feedback